As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I HAVE TWO EXPLOSIVE LINES OF INQUIRY, GV

atmaatma Deep RiverRegistered User regular
edited May 2010 in Graphic Violence
I humbly request your best answer to these queries, the rad and mad for comics need only reply:

Of all the series you love, how many of them did you get to follow from issue one? How many long serials have you read missing the front of the story?

And following that;

How important is it, do you think artistically or otherwise, for issue one of a series to be spectacular? Need it merely be representative of the content to follow?

This is my first thread in GV and I'm sorry to disturb you gentlemen, but please be kind.

atma on

• Options
    SolarSolar Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    I'm pretty new to comics but there are a few series I got to read from issue one, notably Vengeance of the Moon Knight which was really great. I kind of enjoy it when something starts afresh and that's a point in support of the new Avengers stuff because I can be there right from the start (for me I find it very hard to read a series without having picked up all the previous stuff). And yes, first issues tend to need to be good, if only to make you interested in buying more.

So yeah that's my 2p.

Solar on
  • Options
    wwtMaskwwtMask Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    The first issue must be pretty good/great if the creators are an unknown quantity. No one is going to stick with a book that's just okay from a creator that they don't know.

I've followed about 5 or 6 ongoing series from the beginning, and only 1 of them (Criminal) was one that I really loved.

wwtMask on
    When he dies, I hope they write "Worst Affirmative Action Hire, EVER" on his grave. His corpse should be trolled.