As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Half-lying about GPA and employment

L Ron HowardL Ron Howard The duckMinnesotaRegistered User regular
edited June 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
I graduated from college beginning of May, and have been trying to find a job. My school does things weird, however. The due date for grades is after the graduation ceremony. Before I graduated, I took what my instructors told me would be my final grade and calculated it out, and threw it up on my resume.
This is all fine and dandy, but I never went back to actually double check it. Lo and behold, one place that's looking at me wants a copy of my unofficial transcript. The thing is, when I checked it, my grades were a tad bit lower than what I thought I was going to get, like .2 lower, so nothing too far off. But it's still the idea that I lied, even unintentionally. I made the changes to my resume immediately, but I haven't sent in a copy of my transcript to the company. My problem is that I don't know what to do.

Do I ignore the grade on the transcript completely, and hope they never notice, though I'd imagine they would since they wouldn't be asking for it in the first place?
Or do I say something, like "yeah, I never checked my official final grades when I graduated, and calculated it wrong" or something like that?

I don't know what to do here....

L Ron Howard on

• Eat it You Nasty Pig.Eat it You Nasty Pig. tell homeland security 'we are the bomb'Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Just send them a little note with the transcript explaining the discrepancy (or email, whatever.) Probably they won't care too much.

Eat it You Nasty Pig. on
    NREqxl5.jpg
    it was the smallest on the list but
    Pluto was a planet and I'll never forget