As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Limiting my Availability at work

Nirvana PrinceNirvana Prince Registered User new member
edited July 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello there. I currently work full-time as a retarded shift supervisor at a retail pharmacy chain. I wish to attend college in the fall, taking one or two classes, but my dilemma stems from that I will have to go to my manager, and let he or she know that I will no longer be able to work 2-10, then 7-4 the next day on these two specific days.

Are there any terrible issues that could stem from changing my availability? I need my job to buy jelly beans for nutrients, but I feel so stagnant and silly just working retail.

Nirvana Prince on

• Options
    nakirushnakirush Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    As a manger, having somebody change their availability is no big deal. Just ask your manager for a new availability form, explain your situation, and staple a copy of your class schedule to your form.

Odds are there is somebody else in your store asking for more hours who will gladly fill those time slots.

nakirush on
  • Options
    MushroomStickMushroomStick Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    Does your position require full open availability? If so, you might have to drop down a position to open up your schedule.

MushroomStick on
  • Options
    eternalbleternalbl Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    Labor law in your area might state that a full time employee has to be available for any time the employer requires. If you're on good terms with your bosses it probably wouldn't become an issue, but it is something you might want to be aware of in the future.

eternalbl on
    eternalbl.png
  • Options
    ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular