As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Programming book recommendations [solved]

bowenbowen How you doin'?Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey all, I'm looking for some book recommendations for the following:

iPhone/iPad development
General cocoa development
sockets, something I can use to program apps that can talk between windows/linux/OSX would be fantastic, hopefully something that touches on non-blocking IO with sockets a little more in depth too since I'm a relative novice in the world of GUI programming.

Let me know if any of you have good recommendations for all of those. I'm looking to pick up OSX development here in the future and I'd like to also expand my knowledge of sockets at the same time for process interoperability.

not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
bowen on

• Options
    admanbadmanb unionize your workplace Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    For the first I'm liking iPhone SDK Development off the Pragmatic Bookshelf.

admanb on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Oh I'm also hoping for a good reference book for learning objective C, which I'd rather have than that 2nd one.

bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    RSPRSP Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    What experience do you have right now?

If you already know C, and are familiar with C++ or Java, I think you can pick up Objective C pretty quickly just from online resources like this one, and thus have one less book to buy.

RSP on
  • Options