As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Can't figure out these chords, help!

GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So i've been picking up some rumba flamenco for a few years now, and I stumbled across this fun sounding piece

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRPQ2Xc9NuQ

Problem is, I don't use a lot of barre chords when I play, so I can't figure out what these chords are! Can anyone help me out here?

On a side note, can anyone clue me in on how he's getting that partially muted strumming sound? I figured out the first chord, but I can't get it as simple sounding as him, and it has something to do with how he's bridging the barre instead of the strumming technique.

Anything helps!

Godfather on

• Options
    XenosX_XenosX_ Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    It might be a little hard to play along with this video in general because this fellow's guitar is a bit out of tune. It might even be closer to Eb standard tuning instead of E standard, but I can't quite see how he's fretting things. Anyway, the basic idea of the chord progression (in an easier key) is thus:

Em7 - x79787 - bar on fret 7
    Am9 - 575555 - bar on fret 5 (he plays the minor 9 extension as well as 575557)
    D - x57775 - bar on fret 5
    G - 355433 - bar on fret 3
    Cmaj7 - x35453 - bar on fret 3
    B7 - x24242 - bar on fret 2
    Cmaj7 - x35453 - bar on fret 3
    B7 - x24242 - bar on fret 2