As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

soccer drills for absolute beginner

SamSam Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
im planning on starting to play, but i know i need to develop some ball control. does anyone know any drills i could do alone to get somewhat started?

Sam on

• RaneadosRaneados police apologist you shouldn't have been there, obviouslyRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    absolute beginner?

find a field

run around, kicking the ball, try not to look at the ball
    stops, turns, quick turns, 180s, reverses, short+easy control, longer kicks

remember to never let it get too far

learn how much power your foot gives

learn where it is without seeing it

this will help you IMMENSELY with the rest of your soccer playing

Raneados on
  • lifeincognitolifeincognito Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    The above sounds like solid advice. I would suggest you just jog and dribble with the ball for as long as you can stand. Oh, and for the love of Pete don't forget to use both feet.

Bonus: Find a friend and just pass the ball around while talking or something.

lifeincognito on
    losers weepers. jawas keepers.
  • RaneadosRaneados police apologist you shouldn't have been there, obviouslyRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    yeah honestly a great bit of soccer advice is to dribble it everywhere

yeah you'll look pretty stupid

but spend a month dribbling the ball EVERYWHERE
    every time you go anywhere, dribble it

and I do mean everywhere. Go to the bathroom 20 feet away? you better be dribbling

in a month you'll have amazing control

Raneados on
  • GrennGrenn Registered User regular
    edited August 2010