Options

What now? (Career problems)

DrakeonDrakeon Registered User regular
edited October 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So here's the low down: I recently graduated from College with a Bachelors in Criminal Justice and I found myself kind of wishing I'd picked a different major by the time I graduated, but there were still a few job areas that intrigued me (private investigations for one). However, I just found out that being a Surveillance Investigator for a PI firm did not appeal to me (went on a ride-along today) due to the overwhelming amount of travel and hours they have to commit (for this particular job, it was not uncommon for you to go 1 1/2 to 2 weeks without a day off, working 10 hour days, which seemed like a bit much to me). Also was expected to cover several states and from the looks of it, I'd hardly be home, which was kind of a deal-breaker for me. Anyways, now that I've discovered that, my question is: Where do I go from here?

I don't really want to be a cop or special agent for a federal agency (as they are essentially very similar), so what are my other options out there?

I've been applying to these generic state jobs that only require a bachelors degree + an online exam (which I already took) to get into, but have yet to hear back because I guess I got a bad score on the exam (hire-able, but about the lowest you could get otherwise). I've also been looking for other jobs that require a bachelors but dont care beyond that, but haven't had much luck. Where should I be looking for things like that?

PSN: Drakieon XBL: Drakieon Steam: TheDrakeon
Drakeon on

• Options
    DeebaserDeebaser on my way to work in a suit and a tie Ahhhh...come on fucking guyRegistered User regular
    edited October 2010
    Go corporate! We have cake.
    Search career builder for for education level in your area and apply for everything. In the interim, hit up a temp agency and try to get cash/temp to perm work from there.