As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Need advice for making games

Nerdi MasterNerdi Master Registered User regular
edited March 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
I really weant to make video games for a living, but I'm not sure where to start. I've considered going to school and getting a degree, but I also heard it's not really necessary. Do I need a degree to get into the business? I'm also trying to find a good program to design games. I downloaded the Unreal Development kit, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to game design that I have no idea where to start. Is that program too advanced for me?

Nerdi Master on

• Options
    admanbadmanb unionize your workplace Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited February 2011
    You should start by learning how to program.

Next you can start working on mini-games, mods, flash games, or something like that. Don't worry too much about this stage, as learning how to program will take years.

Next you should get a computer science degree. Not a game design degree.

Finally, you may get a job as a programmer, or start your own company, or decide the whole thing is garbage and go into web development or marine biology.

How old are you?

admanb on
  • Options
    TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited February 2011