As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Ways of Learning

ÆthelredÆthelred Registered User regular
edited February 2007 in Debate and/or Discourse
I'm in my second year of university at the moment and one of the things we were encouraged to do in the first year - and indeed throughout the latter stages of tertiary education - was to discover our personal best way of learning. For a long time I thought I was the block of text of type; perhaps owing to an intellectual disdain for those who needed colourful pictures. Lately though I've come to appreciate the benefits of an awesomely sculpted diagram - for one of my current modules, environmental history, I've mapped out the historiographical field from 1800-2000 in a family tree (appropriate) of sorts. I've also found a quite strange method works well for me - reading out articles in my best documentary presenter voice.

Since education is something we've all been through, what have other peoples' experiences been? What methods do other present pupils/students use? Highlighters and classical music ahoy!

p.s. I suppose this could apply to fields apart from standard education too.

pokes: 1505 8032 8399
Æthelred on

• Options
    GoslingGosling Looking Up Soccer In Mongolia Right Now, Probably Watertown, WIRegistered User regular
    edited February 2007
    For me, it's very simple:

1. Find something interesting to you.
    2. Read up on it until you're sick of it.
    3. Repeat.