As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Job Hunting in Texas

GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
edited April 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
So I arrived in Texas this Thursday, but came down with a nasty cold/potential flu virus that's been bogging me down since my flight landed. I'm still sick but getting better, so I used that workintexas.com website that Captain K posted a while back. I'm having trouble finding anything to be honest.

The only thing I studied in school was traditional animation up in Toronto, Canada, and I was forced to stop completing my diploma due to financial/immigration complications. As you can guess there's not a lot of use for that in Texas, so i'm just looking for any type of work that offers/pays consistent hours while i'm down here.

Since i've been gone from Texas for so long, I don't really have much job experience other than as a Server, and because of my school's private institution status I wasn't able to secure a work permit in Canada during my stay. I've basically been unemployed for almost three years!

I'm tired of going the server route. The pay is garbage ($2.13 an hour), it's never stable income, and to be frank i'm just not that great at it. I just want something I can go in and out from that pays decent enough and that I won't hate it completely.

Any suggestions?

Godfather on

• Options
    ElinElin Registered User regular
    edited April 2011
    Call centers? Usually hiring and the only experience needed is usually "customer service." You'll probably hate it though, most people do.

Elin on
    Switch SW-5832-5050-0149
    PSN Hypacia
    Xbox HypaciaMinnow
    Discord Hypacia#0391
  • Options
    edited April 2011
    I'm not the best with customer service, else I would stick with being a Server.