As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Do you worry about what others think of you over the internet?

maximumzeromaximumzero I...wait, what?New Orleans, LARegistered User regular
edited May 2011 in Debate and/or Discourse
While at work today I was thinking of how I come across over the internet and how it differs so much than my actual person. I've said some stupid things (see signature) without realizing what I was typing and I've been an unintentional troll on more than one occasion, to the point where I was actually banned for it.

I'm not good at debating politics, because I don't know as much as what most that do the talking do, and thus I often come out looking like a ignorant moron because of it.

In person I consider myself a pleasant, easygoing person that doesn't often get in arguments or fights and I consider myself of above-average intelligence, but I don't always feel like that's the person I come across as over the internet.

Unfortunately over the web first impressions are everything, and I sometimes thing that I've dug myself into a pit I won't ever escape from.

FU7kFbw.png
Switch: 6200-8149-0919 / Wii U: maximumzero / 3DS: 0860-3352-3335 / eBay Shop
maximumzero on

• KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Less than in real life, but I still feel a bit of shame when proven wrong on the boards or when I get infracted for saying something stupid.

KalTorak on
  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Same as what KalTorak said.

More I am worried about what I might say that could bite me in the future. And how my current online identity could be linked to my real identification, and how that could effect me, professionally.

DiannaoChong on