As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I'd rather not go to the pity party.

SkulloSkullo Registered User regular
edited May 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Okay H/A. Big question: How do you tell someone who cannot take criticism to stop acting like a victim and suck it up? Is there even a nice way to do this?

Circumstances:
(Since it usually get's asked: We're in our 20s. I'm a grad student, she's a professional/soon to be grad student)

My girlfriend is leaving a job she enjoys in July to start going to grad school. She knew she was leaving, and so did her boss and coworkers. Now, she's close with her boss and most of her coworkers, but lately, she's been acting as if they're all against her, and it is incredibly hard to not view it as her acting childish.

Scenario A: The boss hired a new girl to work alongside the GF. Said new hire was actually hired with the real version (long story) of my girlfriend's job in mind. The GF knew this, and has even been training the new hire to take over. This has gone on for months. Now that it's coming close to leaving time, the new hire has been "officially" promoted, and has started to go to meetings/events/trainings, instead of my GF.