As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Recommend on - firewalls for the home

ueanuean Registered User regular
I'm wondering what the collective knowledge of Moe's Tech Tavern can give in the way of a recommendation for a home firewall?

I'd like to be able to employ some basic content filtering on keyword and blacklist some websites. Nothing fancy needed beyond that really. My current router has some built in support but it drags the network to its knees when more than 3 or 4 websites are specified. It destroys it back to 2400baud when I start using keywords.

I don't have any experience with personal firewalls. Mainly business exposure to Sonicwall's TZ### lineup and NetSentron setups. I'd rather not pay that much money for one of these products.

I have a couple spare boxes I could build if there's anything open source available. Ideally I'd like to do the filtering at the router level rather than individually per machine for many good reasons, but I'd also consider just turning the router into a switch/AP and moving DHCP and other roles over to one of the boxes if there was some decent software out there.

Recommendations? Many thanks in advance.

Guys? Hay guys?
PSN - sumowot
uean on

Posts

  • Options
    bigwahbigwah Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    Have you looked into OpenDNS at Home? I havent personally used it, but looks like what you are looking for. Setting it as your DNS on your router and setup the block lists on it.

    bigwah on
    LoL Tribunal:
    "Was cursing, in broken english at his team, and at our team. made fun of dead family members and mentioned he had sex with a dog."
    "Hope he dies tbh but a ban would do."
  • Options
    ueanuean Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    Yes, sorry I should have mentioned I did look into this. My ISP requires I use their router in order to access their hi-speed service (http://www.speedtest.net/result/1348577149.png). It's an SMC unit and it's a total piece of crap. After pursuing OpenDNS I eventually gave up - the router doesn't let you assign DNS servers manually unless you are logged in with admin credentials, and my ISP won't give those out (they basically lock down the router for who knows why.) Long story short I can't use OpenDNS effectively.

    uean on
    Guys? Hay guys?
    PSN - sumowot
  • Options
    SeñorAmorSeñorAmor !!! Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    I bet if you ask nicely they can put your modem/router into a switched mode (or tell you how to).

    You'll need to then provide a router of your own but at least that opens up your possibilities for firewalls and such.

    SeñorAmor on
  • Options
    ueanuean Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    :) I asked, but forgot the nicely part.

    OpenDNS really is the way. I'm just going to have a hard time saying goodbye to 3Mbps up speed if it comes to that.

    uean on
    Guys? Hay guys?
    PSN - sumowot
  • Options
    Dark ShroudDark Shroud Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    If you're able to switch their router into DMZ mode and run a router behind it.

    Dark Shroud on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited July 2011
    Usually when my cable company gives me shitty ass routers I just tell them I need a p2p vpn for work and their router/modem combination is preventing it and they switch it into bridged/switch mode.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
Sign In or Register to comment.