As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[D&D 4E PbP] Carrion Crown OOC thread ("They're coming to get you, Cranea.")

1910111214

Posts

  • Witch_Hunter_84Witch_Hunter_84 Registered User regular
    I'm just gonna take care of this shambler real quick. You guys focus on the other one. No biggie.

    If you can't beat them, arrange to have them beaten in your presence.
  • GrogGrog My sword is only steel in a useful shape.Registered User regular
    Ok I take back what I said. We're doomed.

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    Yeah we are

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    You could pop the bonus from that card the merchant guy dealt you (unless you've used it already, I'm not sure), that'd turn it into a hit.

    Of course, we'll probably get wiped out regardless. :P

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    I forgot about that card

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    OK I want to use the card. Is it a once only item?

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    Updated stats and action

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    DaMoonRulz wrote: »
    OK I want to use the card. Is it a once only item?


    You drew the Keep card.

    You gain one of these bonuses (but it is indeed once off):

    Option 1: If used before a roll is made, this card grants you a +8 luck bonus on any one d20 roll. If used after a roll is made, this bonus is reduced to +4. You can also use this card to grant a bonus to another character, as long as you are in the same location and your character can reasonably affect the outcome of the roll (such as by distracting a monster, shouting words of encouragement, or otherwise aiding another with the check). (Since you already rolled, you only get the +4 bonus)

    -or-

    Option 2: For one offensive power, your attack is treated as though it has the Radiant keyword, and deals radiant damage respectively to that power's damage type. This can only be used before an attack roll is made.

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    Yeah I went back and re-read the card, I just didn't look to see how often it could be used. Hate to burn it now, but I'm not sure I could afford not to.

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    DM: Bwhahaha, foolish adventurers! Now I will crush you with one die roll!

    *Rolls dice*

    Watch as your hopes and dreams come crumbling... what?

    *Looks at dice*

    (Vader voice) NOOOOOOOOOOO!

    *End sinister voice mode*

    And such a close roll too. Had the Thundering Armor of Kledge be power bonus instead of shield bonus, Valagard's Shield would have overwritten it (since it was a power bonus based buff), thus allowing me to use Airyc like a scratching post.

    Looks like the tides are (hopefully) turning...

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    That fucker's gonna DIE!

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    Would Airyc rather have the damage bonus from Duelist's Assault, or should I try for a +3 power bonus to melee attack rolls for him via Righteous Brand? (Of course that'd require a hit, which isn't terribly likely thanks to this thing's obscene AC.)

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    They can stack, right?

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    I don' tknow if any of you guys have tried out DNDNext, you can get a packet about it from the wizards website, but I'm really not a fan of it myself.

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    DaMoonRulz wrote: »
    They can stack, right?

    Not in practice, because Valagard needs to hit the skeleton in melee to provide the Righteous Brand bonus, which means Airyc wouldn't qualify for Duelist's Assault any longer.

  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    DaMoonRulz wrote: »
    They can stack, right?

    Nope. Both are power bonus buffs, and the Handbook states that:
    Bonuses: There’s one important rule for bonuses: Don’t add together bonuses of the same type to the same roll or score. If you have two bonuses of the same type that apply to the same roll or score, use the higher bonus.

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    But they'd be added to different rolls/scores

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    DaMoonRulz wrote: »
    But they'd be added to different rolls/scores

    Herpa Derpa, my bad. Just saw that Duelist Stance gives a bonus to DAMAGE rolls, while righteous give a bonus to ATTACK rolls.

    So yeah, they stack :P

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    edited August 2012
    Though thinking about it now, wouldn't you LOSE the damage bonus when Valagard ends up adjacent to it, cause she needs to hit in melee?

    Edit: what MMag just said. So I guess they won't stack.

    DM casts BAD NEWS on Airyc.

    It's SUPER EFFECTIVE!

    TiamatZ on
  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    Aw, didn't read that one.

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    So which will it be? If you want the attack bonus and Valagard drops below 0 hit points afterwards because the skeleton doesn't die quickly enough it'll be your fault. :P

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    I say do whatever has the higher chance of YOU hitting

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    edited August 2012
    Well, that settles it.

    Seven squares, seven squares,
    seven squares onward,
    T'ward the grim shore of Death
    Charged the brave cleric...

    Edit: a fucking 5. Fuck you too, Orokos.

    MMAgCh on
  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    How intelligent do these things seem? Here's my plan. I swing at it, then move away trying to provoke an opportunity attack. If it takes the attack, Drell gets a free swing at it. Has he used his second wind already?

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    He's kinda dying at the moment (what with the 0 HP going on there, unless someone healed him when I wasn't looking), so he's using his Unnatural Vitality racial feat (basically he can choose to be dazed instead of unconscious) to keep on fightin'! If that's the case he cannot do OAs on anything.
    DAZED
    ✦ You grant combat advantage.
    ✦ You can take either a standard action, a move action,
    or a minor action on your turn (you can also take
    free actions). You can’t take immediate actions or
    opportunity actions.

    ✦ You can’t flank an enemy.

  • GrogGrog My sword is only steel in a useful shape.Registered User regular
    Yep, I'm not the best defender when I'm dead. I'll wait on Kledge to take a shot, then I'll whap him. Hopefully Airyc can then finish him off.

  • BearrorristBearrorrist Registered User regular
    edited August 2012
    a 4

    :(

    Edit: where did my post go?

    Bearrorrist on
  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    edited August 2012
    Edit: where did my post go?

    Must be a bug. I posted a Bug report in the forum. Hopefully it'll get fixed.

    Edit: Also, I'm glad to see I'm not the only one with this issue.

    TiamatZ on
  • GrogGrog My sword is only steel in a useful shape.Registered User regular
    Just in case my post gets sucked away here are my rolls. Can Airyc do 18 damage on his turn? No pressure!
    Standard: Cleave vs AC: 1d20+11+1 = 26
    Damage: 1d10+8+2 = 17 and it's marked blah blah.

    Death save: 1d20 7 Blargh!

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    Just six more points! We can dooooo eet!

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    I can't see that post either. Do you know what that means? These have all been ghost posts.

    We're dead already.

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    OH GOD THE LANGOLI-

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    21vs AC for 12 pts of damage. I'm down to 3 points of health

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    It's up to Cranea now!

  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    edited August 2012
    Hopefully the mods will figure out whats wrong.

    I'd hate to remake a thread just cause a few posts are gone/missing.

    Edit: That leaves Cranea for the finishing blow.

    Edit2: beaten by MMag.

    TiamatZ on
  • BearrorristBearrorrist Registered User regular
    I don't see any posts after DaMoon's post about Airyc talking to Drell

  • DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    I broke the thread. sorry.

    3basnids3lf9.jpg




  • TiamatZTiamatZ Ghost puns The Banette of my existenceRegistered User regular
    DaMoonRulz wrote: »
    I broke the thread. sorry.

    It's been fixed guys! Now all we need is for Cranea to save/ruin the day!

    No pressure, Witch. :P

  • MMAgChMMAgCh remember tomorrow. Registered User regular
    We're just dying to find out how this fight is going to end.

Sign In or Register to comment.