As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Rusty & Co. - Webcomic needing critique.

RustMonsterRustMonster Registered User new member
edited March 2012 in Artist's Corner
Hey Artist's Corner! I've been lurking for a while now, and I figured the best way to introduce myself was to open up my work to some critique. I've been doing a webcomic for a couple years and I think I need some expert advice as to where to go from here.

2012-02-01-level6_04-5fff7711.jpg
2012-02-08-level6_05-4dd240da.jpg

(And the entire comic is here.)

I think coloring is my weakest point, so I'm especially interested in feedback on that. I'd love to be able to do color like Tyson Hesse's Boxer Hockey, but so far, experimenting in Photoshop hasn't gotten me there.

(Also, I know the first 20 strips or so are terrible cut-and-pastes... I only became serious about the project once I started building an audience. Big mistake there. If I ever get a big enough buffer of future strips, I intend to go back and redo those.)

Good to meet you!

RustMonster on

• Options
    Linespider5Linespider5 ALL HAIL KING KILLMONGER Registered User regular
    Huh. I, too, having a weakness when it comes to colour-likely formed from a deep love of doing only pencil sketches for a period of 8 years or more.

Looking at the samples, I'd have to say you've got a pretty vibrant palette going on...which is neither good nor bad, necessarily, but I do see a lot of purple, red, and yellow on white. It pops pretty good...if you just went by colour alone, you'd see that Boxer Hockey does tend to ratchet down on the colour variety in a single strip but favors shading to do most of the heavy lifting. Even when there are a variety, they tend to match in terms of relative contrast values to give a more unified image.