As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

There's no job thread? Now there is!

• Options
    PerrsunPerrsun Registered User regular
    Nogs wrote: »
    Perrsun wrote: »
    Hi, Job Thread. Here's what's happening with my life: My girlfriend recently got accepted to a Masters program at St Cloud State University in Minnesota. Currently, I live outside of Pittsburgh, and some time over the summer we'll be moving to St Cloud together.

Right now, I have been working at Best Buy for the last 5 years. I have already talked with my managers about looking into being transferred to a store there, but optimally, I would like to get out of retail. My educational history is that I got a BA from Penn State in Communications (Media Studies focus) and then I promptly didn't do anything with that degree.

So, Job Thread, what advice do you have for me?

while it is like an hour and half drive away from St. Cloud, Best Buy Corporate is in Bloomington Minnesota. Drive past it everyday.

You could see if you can get transferred to corporate?

My current commute is close to an hour, so if the position paid enough to justify the extended drive, I'd be OK with this, or another job in the area.

• Options
    QuantumTurkQuantumTurk Registered User regular
    Al_wat wrote: »
    Finished school. First job offer doesn't want me to start for another month.

This should be a relief period, I should be enjoying myself

Day 1 and I am getting fucking antsy already

My advice is to enjoy this time. You finished school! yay! You HAVE A JOB! that is great too! Now relax and do some fun things (obviously don't blow the bank before the job starts) and get yourself so sick of doing nothing really productive that you will dive into the job. That's what I did anyway.

• Options