As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Astro Dash 8-Bit Smash [Updated Aug 19 2012]

2 Marcus 2 Ravens2 Marcus 2 Ravens CanadaRegistered User regular
edited August 2012 in Artist's Corner
Hello, land of artists. I come before you to humbly ask for criticism on my pixel art.

A friend of mine and I are working on a simple, 2D platformer called Astro Dash. I'm working on the music, design, and a wee bit of code, which I think I can handle fairly well. I am also, however, trying my hand at pixel art, which I am absolutely clueless about.

It should be said that I am not much of a visual artist. I studied cinematography in college, but I haven't really drawn anything since high school art class.

I am desperately determined to make this work, but I know I'll need help. Big time help. So please, any help at all would be very much appreciated. Brutal, but helpful is best!

So here's some samples of what I've been working on.

The star of the show: Astro Dash
AstroDash4Huge.png

Some evil robits!
WheelieBotHuge.png

SpeedyBotHuge.png

A terrifying space slug!
GiantSlugHuge.png

Some tiles. The tiles are the worst part, I think.
AstroDashTiles3.png

This isn't actually intended to be a level, but just to see what everything looks like on screen. Turns, out, it looks bad. This is a problem!
7505507260_fe96f04bef.jpg

2 Marcus 2 Ravens on

• Options
    Just for fun, this is one of the songs we're hoping to use. It is literally the first chiptune I ever made (with a bit of cheating in Mixcraft). I've got several more I'm working on, but this one is my favourite and the only one I'm fairly certain will be in the game. I'll post more as they get a little more fleshed out.

http://youtu.be/j_jyg-g-lGw

• Options
    IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod