As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Having a baby, need your brains (And we don't have health insurance)

Actinguy1Actinguy1 Registered User regular
edited August 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
Greetings, super friends!

My wife and I just found out we're going to have a baby, which we're very excited about...but it's suddenly occurred to us that we don't know shit about babies or pregnancies, etc. We also don't have health insurance right now. So advice and tips in all those areas would be very helpful!

That's the tl;dr version. Here's the details:

I'm 29, and a federal govt employee (GS-12). I'm also an Iraq war veteran (Air Force). She's 26 and a stay-at-home wife...she was a nurse, supporting me while I went to school, and now that I have this job she doesn't have to go to work anymore. We live in Maryland, I work in DC. We've been married for one year. We were trying the whole time for a kid, but found out it would be very difficult because my wife has PCOS, so we're very happy. She's somewhere between 3-5 weeks along. Of course we're not planning to tell friends and family until 8-10 weeks. By my wife's calculation, she'll be due in late April, early May.