Options

Tear my music apart!

Dark Raven XDark Raven X Laugh hard, run fast,be kindRegistered User regular
edited September 2012 in Artist's Corner
OK, I have a problem mastering music. I've never formally learned this stuff, just grabbed some software and been dicking around with it for a few years. I sorta plateaued last year though, and have been unable to get stuff to sound any better. I can never pinpoint what it is that's wrong, like everything will sound great while recording and then when it comes time for a final export it just all falls apart, usually with the 'real' instruments, guitars and bass especially - synth stuff and VSTs usually sound fine and balanced. It all just sounds off somehow?

I've shown music off to friends but they're way too nice to get proper feedback from. I know there's way more artists than musicians here, so I doubt I'll get too many replies, but honestly any feedback is helpful. :P

So! Here's something I did today, a cover of Ezio's theme from Assassin's Creed II; http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23237150/Ezio Heart.mp3

To contrast, here's something else that's basically all VST, an arrangement of The Doctor's theme from Doctor Who; http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23237150/Silence Falls.mp3

How can I get it sounding a little more professional?

Thanks. ;D

Oh brilliant
Dark Raven X on

• Options
    WalterMachadoWalterMachado Registered User regular
    1-Where are your drums?
    2-When recording real instruments, you have to manage the latency (better way? buy an asio soundcard and a mixer... I have one m-audio audiophile 192 (perfect and not expensive), or buy a mixer that work with asio drivers)
    3-Record clean guitar and bass direct on line, then put effects with vst.
    4-Better Sample packs put the regular guy on a pro level with just a few clicks.
    5-use soundcloud.

• Options
    Dark Raven XDark Raven X Laugh hard, run fast, be kindRegistered User regular