As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help me make spicey, delicious chili.

JokermanJokerman EverythingEverywhereRegistered User regular
So tomorrow I'm going to be making chili for some friends, and while I have some experience in the kitchen, I've never made chili proper.

So give me your Recipes\Hints PA. I'm all ears.
Probably going to make it with beef, might get some spicy sausage, but defiantly will be going with beef for the bulk of it.

Also, i don't live in Texas, so the chili will have beans. Just FYI.

• Options
    TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited November 2012
    The SomethingAwful thread has some nice recipes, like:

http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2011/06/chili-recipe-with-chocolate/

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/lamb-black-bean-chili-cumin-crema-red-onion-relish-avocado-relish-native-american-fry-bread-recipe/index.html with beef instead of lamb of course

Basically the two important steps are making sure you brown a meat that is anything other than ground beef, and getting a bunch of chiles and grinding them up.

Optional additions include chocolate, beer, and/or cornmeal although maybe I'm alone in liking that last one.

TychoCelchuuu on
  • Options
    JokermanJokerman Everything EverywhereRegistered User regular
    Why wouldn't you want to Brown ground beef?

• Options
    edited November 2012
    Because ground beef in chili is an abomination, browned or not. Chili is at its heart two ingredients: meat and chili peppers. Using ground beef for the meat is crippling 50% of your dish before you even get off the ground.

TychoCelchuuu on
  • Options
    TefTef Registered User regular
    help a fellow forumer meet their mental health care needs because USA healthcare sucks!