As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[PATV] Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - Extra Credits Season 5, Ep. 17: Religion in Games (Part 2)

• KhalinKhalin Registered User regular
    edited December 2012
    :| Science always adjusts its views based on what's observed. No matter WHAT someone believes, if the observations disagree, that belief is wrong. Faith is the denial of observation so that belief can be preserved. They are absolutely not the same. Science does not -start- at faith. As a scientist myself I am personally offended by the equation of my constant need to admit that I'm wrong about everything to learn with the arrogant certitude of faith.

Einstein was not a man of faith, either. Einstein wasn't an atheist, no, but he thought the faith of the Christians and other religions to be childish and silly.

Khalin on
  • hobsgoblinhobsgoblin Registered User regular
    You are equivocating religious faith with what skeptic's mean when they say "faith". Which is very understandable since almost everyone does. This pervasive equivocation makes meaningful discussion of faith between the religious and non-religious completely impossible. Each side completely misunderstands the other side's statements, making all communication impossible. So let's clear this misunderstanding up.

When non-religious Alice says "faith", Alice is talking about what is for her the obvious main issue about gods: do they even exist? Alice believes that they do not, so there is never really a reason to go past that "does it exist?" question. If religious person Bob says that he has "lost faith", Alice will think that Bob is saying that he is now an atheist. However, that's not what Bob meant. Not at all!