As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Child-rearing/gaming

HolyyakkerHolyyakker Registered User regular
I'm a gamer of the moderate variety. I play a lot of table top, some PC gaming and a little bit of console (my parents never got me a console so I didn't really get into the genre till I was a college grad so I've always leaned toward PC games.) I'm now married, 32, and have a 3 year old son. Lately he's been enjoying watching me and my wife playing simple Wii Games (like the game pack that came with the cow race, the fishing game, etc.)

I wanted to get some games for my son that we could both enjoy. Creative/exploration type games. It doesn't necessarily have to be "educational" but games where there is no pressure to "win" and he can have fun no matter what he does. An example that springs to mind would be Katamari without any timer in free play.

Any suggestions?

Systems available include Wii and PS3 and I lean slightly toward Wii because the controller might be a bit simpler for him to handle.

"Beware to March of Dimes" - MacBeth

• Options
    TofystedethTofystedeth Registered User regular
    Will there's Kirby's Epic Yarn, which aside from being completely adorable and fun also doesn't really have a lose condition. You can't die, you just lose some beads and pick them up again. It does still have stuff to do and 3 may be a bit young.

steam_sig.png
  • Options
    Yeah - looked at some videos of it and it is probably too much for him (we won't mention that I tend to suck at platformers too.) I was thinking perhaps more sandbox type. But that would definitely be a fun one for when he's older.

• Options
    EsseeEssee The pinkest of hair. Victoria, BCRegistered User regular