As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Moving to a new city (possible Seattle thread)

ZekZek Registered User regular
So today I live in Minneapolis where I moved last year for a job. Didn't like the job much, the state is okay but not my cup of tea(I thought I would be okay with the cold but no I'm not at all). So for a while I've been saving up cash and considering moving elsewhere when I got the chance. Then yesterday I got laid off, and my lease is up in April, so it seems like now's the time to make it happen. Financially I'm okay for a while, but there are a couple details I'm trying to iron out:

- First off, where to go. I've had kind of a nerd fantasy about moving to Seattle for a while, so that's been at the top of my list. I work as a web developer so it seems like a good career choice and culturally it sounds like a decent match(I'm pretty much your typical geeky introvert). The other option is New York City, the main draw of which being that I have family in the area - I went to college and worked for a while in NJ on the outskirts. I spent some time in the city but not really enough to get a feel for living there. My gut feeling is that I don't really identify with the "vibe" of that city as much but I'm starting to question if I'm imagining things. Anybody have any general advice here? How's life in Seattle? I'm trying to compare it to New York both culturally and pragmatically, i.e. cost of living, public transit, etc.