Options

From zero to probably one, two, or at most three.

drbernardidrbernardi Registered User new member
Hi guys and girls, I am a web developer and web designer who is trying to get better at drawing. I mostly stopped drawing when I came to the age where I realized everything I did was horrible and haven't basically picked up a pencil until this year. I've been lurking this forum a lot and think it's time to get some feedbacks to both get better and to keep motivated.

I started my journey with Drawing On The Right Side Of The Brain, here are some of the drawing I made, most of them are copied from other drawing (not traced), unless otherwise stated:
2013-06-16%2011.07.10.jpg

2013-06-16%2011.07.19.jpg
(a friend of mine, drawn from real life)

2013-06-16%2011.07.00.jpg

2013-06-16%2011.06.43.jpg

2013-06-16%2011.05.58.jpg
(my hand)

2013-06-16%2011.05.51.jpg
(drawn from real life)

2013-06-16%2011.05.43.jpg
(drawn from real life)

2013-06-16%2011.07.32.jpg
(drawn from real life)

To be honest I think the book gives the reader a way to get to the best result possible without too much trouble, a result which is not really applicable to most situations (do any of you draw with a viewfinder?), also the science part sounds kinda dated, but I have to admit it gives some good rules to start drawing, however I feel the need to move on from this approach to drawing. I eventually started trying drawing "on my own" and felt kinda bad about the result, here's a Bowie I wish he never sees:
2013-06-16%2011.06.17.jpg
(ch-ch-ch-changing for the worst, drawn from an album cover)

After a few similar result I was kinda down, work also kicked in and I basically stopped drawing for a month or two, until I realized I was never going anywhere without practicing daily, so I started producing messes again, here's some of the new things, these are exercises I did based on the book Keys To Drawing:
2013-06-16%2011.06.34.jpg

1tl1.jpg

9cqx.jpg