As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

I hate myself and I have no idea what to do with my life.

JskripJskrip Registered User new member
I’m in my mid twenties and I’m currently in the Navy, I wasn’t doing anything productive so I enlisted for the G.I. benefits. In two years I’ll be a civilian again and I’m not the least bit confident in my abilities, nor do I have any passions that could drive me toward a potential career. I’m not good at anything, I forget to accomplish simple tasks, I struggle to pay attention, I drag my feet at work, and I’m generally pretty miserable.

I can’t see myself doing anything with my life that isn’t a shitty and menial job. I’m not good at math, so every stable profession is pretty much out of the question. My step-brother recently graduated with a major in computer science and landed a great job. I’m happy for him, but a little jealous.

I suck at everything; I suck at being an adult.

• silence1186silence1186 Character shields down! As a wingmanRegistered User regular
    I think you should talk to someone professionally about this; I assume you have health insurance since you're in the Navy. You might even want to go to a psychiatrist over a psychologist, because from the way you describe it, some medication might help you overcome some of your difficulties.

Alternatively, perhaps see your GP about attention issues, maybe he could prescribe something to help you focus when you really need to.

Also, there are plenty of stable jobs you can get even if you're not good at math. Honestly, being able to write/communicate is extremely important in today's world.

• Donovan PuppyfuckerDonovan Puppyfucker A dagger in the dark is worth a thousand swords in the morningRegistered User regular