Options

Weird Error Message

ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
I would normally attribute this to a one-time thing, but I've gotten it a few times today, so thought I should report it: I click on a thread like normal, and this message pops up:

Warning: Memcache::connect() url=http://forums.penny-arcade.com/function.Memcache-connect]function.Memcache-connect[/url: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: hostname nor servname provided, or not known in /includes/class_datastore.php on line 285

Warning: Memcache::connect() url=http://forums.penny-arcade.com/function.Memcache-connect]function.Memcache-connect[/url: Can't connect to forums.www1.internal.penny-arcade.com:11211, Unknown error (0) in /includes/class_datastore.php on line 285

Fatal error: Unable to connect to memcache server in /includes/class_datastore.php on line 287

Thanatos on

Posts

  • Options
    naporeonnaporeon Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I just got this same error message.

    naporeon on
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited April 2007
    Yep, that's good to know, thanks for reporting.

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    DaySleeperDaySleeper regular
    edited April 2007
    I just got it trying to get into H/A

    DaySleeper on
    magnum%20pi%20ferrari.jpeg
    Unofficial PA IRC chat: #paforums at irc.slashnet.org
  • Options
    RankenphileRankenphile Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.Registered User, Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited April 2007
    I just got it going into a thread in SE++.

    Running FF 2.0.0.3

    Rankenphile on
    8406wWN.png
  • Options
    naporeonnaporeon Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I suppose I should list that too, Rank.

    FF 1.5.0.8.

    naporeon on
  • Options
    DaySleeperDaySleeper regular
    edited April 2007
    Oh, mine was also in Ff 2.0.0.3

    DaySleeper on
    magnum%20pi%20ferrari.jpeg
    Unofficial PA IRC chat: #paforums at irc.slashnet.org
  • Options
    naporeonnaporeon Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I should add that I am running FF 2.0.0.3 at home, but have yet to see this problem on those machines.

    naporeon on
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited April 2007
    browser type doesn't matter. this is a server error and should have nothing to do with you or with how you connect. But it is useful to me to know how frequently it happens.

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    RankenphileRankenphile Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.Registered User, Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited April 2007
    got it again, my second time ever, opening The Office thread in SE++

    Rankenphile on
    8406wWN.png
  • Options
    LaOsLaOs SaskatoonRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Just for more information on frequency, I just got this in H/A.

    LaOs on
  • Options
    KnobKnob TURN THE BEAT BACK InternetModerator Mod Emeritus
    edited April 2007
    I had it happen once about 20 minutes ago

    Knob on
  • Options
    AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    It happens to me about twice a day. F5 and I'm good to go.

    Aldo on
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited April 2007
    I heard from alphamonkey that our dns server is being flaky. (Hopefully soon) I will try providing memcache with a backup server in case it cannot connect to the primary, and see if it helps with these errors.

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I hit this twice more today.

    Thanatos on
  • Options
    FunkyWaltDoggFunkyWaltDogg Columbia, SCRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I've had it at least twice today.

    FunkyWaltDogg on
  • Options
    KnobKnob TURN THE BEAT BACK InternetModerator Mod Emeritus
    edited April 2007
    We still tracking this? Because I just hit one.

    Knob on
  • Options
    Salvation122Salvation122 Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Just hit one.

    Salvation122 on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Knob wrote: »
    We still tracking this? Because I just hit one.
    Yup. I'm lurking.

    I'll move over the DNS info now and see if that resolves the issue.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    *moved*

    Let me know if this still happens.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Okay its been a while with no errors. I'll mark this as fixed.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited April 2007
    Hey alpha, I'm unclear what the fix was, did we get a new DNS server?

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Nope. Arcscale couldn't find a problem with their DNS server (despite the problems here) so I just changed the values in the files to direct IP addresses.

    Eventually the solution will be to use NIS to distribute a centralized /etc/hosts file, but I like to chat with Robert before I start up a project > 1 hour.

    -Alpha

    Älphämönkëy on
Sign In or Register to comment.