Advice on Comics

CapekCapek Registered User regular
edited August 2014 in Artist's Corner
Hi all. I'm not much of an artist, but I started drawing this comic.

Well, sort of a comic. I take the posts people make in political arguments online and illustrate them.

I don't have any kind of art background, but I would really appreciate any criticisms or suggestions on layout, drawing or putting pictures and words together.

Many thanks for any feedback.

Here's a few samples:

6202525_orig.jpg
4504669_orig.jpg
5313084_orig.jpg
8325512_orig.jpg[img][/img]9896070_orig.jpg

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. - Fitzgerald
Capek on

• NibCromNibCrom Registered User regular
    Did you actually write these? Or are these all quotes taken from Facebook?

• CapekCapek Registered User regular
    edited August 2014
    Quotes

Capek on
    So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. - Fitzgerald
  • mri80mri80 Registered User regular
    Capek, the theme of page layout is huge and encompasses composition, unity, harmony, balance, contrasty, emphasis and rhythm amongst others. I would recommend a google search for comic book layout followed by any of those terms to start reading up on the topic. I would also read up a little bit on lettering, to see if you can clean up the nadwritting a little bit to make it easier to read the text. Good luck!

• NibCromNibCrom Registered User regular
    Capek wrote: »
    Quotes

Legal issues aside, I'm not keen on taking other peoples quotes from Facebook. I would come up with your own scenarios.

What is your goal with these comics? To practice illustration? To make humorous drawings to accompany Facebook posts?

• CapekCapek Registered User regular
    Thanks for your thoughts everyone.

• sampangolinsampangolin Registered User regular