As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

making final arrangemets (yes, those kind)

MaguanoMaguano Registered User regular
So, after a longish bout with cancer, my mom passed this afternoon, somewhat suddenly, but not entirely unexpected.
The thing is, there really is no book on what to do. (or if there is, its not a best seller)
I'm headed to the funeral home with my dad tomorrow to take care of that stuff, and i was a manager in a florist for 5 years (albeit many years ago) so i got that covered. My question is, what's next?
(besides the crushing grief, and the "fun" times telling my kids (8 and 5) tomorrow morning that their grandmother died?
oh, related question, any tips on the best way to tell them? they knew she was sick, and my older son kinda knew something was up when i hurriedly left before dinner this evening to drive up, (he asked me "why" multiple times, when i said i have to run up to grandpa's)

steam:maguano2
gamertag:Maguano71
Switch:SW-8428-8279-1687

• Options
    XaquinXaquin Right behind you!Registered User regular
    I don't have any advice, but I offer my condolences

Sorry Mag

Hope you get through it all ok =(

• Options
    DarkewolfeDarkewolfe Registered User regular
    My condolences to you. I had to handle a lot of my mother's passing as well.

There's not really a good way to break it to the kids. I would probably do so gently, and emphasize that she loved them and went peacefully.

The funeral home will do many of these things for you. That's basically what they do. If you are a member of a faith community, or your mother was, they are often also very helpful in this time. Both groups know that people aren't well equipped for this sort of thing and have a procedure to walk you through.