Question for Professional Artists (esp digital ones) about wrist care :(

Blameless ClericBlameless Cleric An angel made of sapphires each more flawlessly cut than the last Registered User regular
Hello all~!

I'm an animation student in my 3rd year of college and at the end of last semester, I overworked my right wrist/hand pretty badly. I was making a 30 second (digital) 2d short, had roughly 3 months (subtracting sleep, eating, doing homework for my other 3 classes, going to classes... it adds up) and by the end was pulling weekly all-nighters and 12-18 hour days. By the end of it I was working for an hour, stretching an icing my wrist for 15min or so , then working for an hour, repeat, but by then it was really too late. I couldn't close my hand, lost a lot of grip strength, and was in a brace for the last 2 weeks of classes. As soon as I was done (this is beginning of May) I went to the doctor, who said 3 weeks of harsh No Drawing policy, 4-6weeks in the brace, and stretches twice daily. Lots of water, sleep well, take ibuprofen, etc.

WELL

I did all those things!! It's summer so my life hasn't been particularly demanding, I've slept pretty well, I did 6 weeks in the brace (At which point it seemed to be causing more pain than helping) and 3 weeks of no drawing, 3 weeks after that of really limited drawing, and honestly didn't start working for longer than an hour at a time again until a few weeks ago. I've been using a wrist compression sock thing a nurse friend recommended. I have only done like....... 2 or 3 large pieces all summer. I'm getting actually out of practice because if I really need the money that the commissions I do bring in, so I have to devote all my wrist/hand-energy to those and don't have much left for my own stuff or general practice work. I've done some (and it's been so nice to do) but not nearly with the frequency that I was able to before.