[Game Dev] I don't have a publisher. What I do have are a very particular set of skills.

1606162636466»

• ZekZek Registered User regular
    edited March 27
    In light of endless quarantine I'm trying to take another stab at game dev since I'm bored out of my skull. I spent a couple days doing Game Maker Studio tutorials but decided to stick with Unity after all since I just couldn't get over the lack of proper C# object oriented practices; I program for a living and that's half the fun of it to me. I'm planning to stick with pure simple 2D games with tight scope, and maybe get into shape for some game jams down the line as a goal.

Edit: I think I mostly figured out my Animator issue, though not without a little tedium. I'm working now on doing some kind of interactive idle game, inspired in part by Incremancer. I know there's a community for games like that with very low production values that I'm pretty confident I can hit. Nothing to show for a little while though.

Zek on
    dipuc4lifetemplewulfZibblsnrt
  • KupiKupi Registered User regular
    Kupi's Weekly Friday Game Dev Status Report

Well, it came down to the wire, and required me taking a day off of work (which I was going to do anyway but shhhh), but I got a little bit of work done this morning, so hey, we broke the streak, it was only 2.99 weeks without any game dev instead of 3.

Returning to my platforming body movement system with fresh eyes, I immediately spotted an opportunity to compress the handling of various cases into a single handler, so I went ahead and did that refactor. It isn't done yet, and it blocked the planned unit testing, but it's going to make the eventual unit testing and debugging a lot easier, so whatever, I'm calling it a win.