As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Changing Careers...

WinklebottomWinklebottom Registered User regular
I currently hate my job, I'm a graphic designer and I work for a really crappy company that treats me poorly. I just want a new job, I don't even care what I'm doing. The only problem is I need to make around the same amount I make where I work ($14.50 an hour), where I live graphic design positions are relatively rare. I was wondering if anyone had any advice?

• IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    If you have a decent portfolio you could begin seeking out freelance, it's not usually reliable, but it could help you transition into a job somewhere else.

It would be useful to know a general area where you are, or if you have any other applicable skills for anything.

• WinklebottomWinklebottom Registered User regular
    I live in Central Alabama, and here is the current skill set I use at work:
    Responsible for Typesetting/Designing all jobs that came through the shop,
    managing timetables,
    troubleshooting all network and computer problems,
    producing finished pieces on digital printing equipment
    and interacting with customers for the proofing process.

Also I can touch type quite quickly and have a Bachelor's Degree in Fine Arts.

• EncEnc A Fool with Compassion Pronouns: He, Him, HisRegistered User regular
    edited July 2017
    This link might be useful:
    https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=graphic+designer

All of these use most or all of your listed skills as a graphic designer. If you click one, such as:
    Graphic Designers: https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/27-1024.00