Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Twilight Imperium 4e - Game 2 - Round 7: Game Over!

15051535556

Posts

  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    discrider wrote: »
    Why would people without their home planets take Imperial?
    Really though, more surprised by jakobagger, and can only assume he doesn't need it.

    1) Through the hope that they will recapture their homeworlds and also complete enough objectives - they can't possibly win without recapturing after all
    2) To prevent the game from ending before they can score points

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    3) Because they like the thrill of danger and possibly wasting their card by not both recapturing their home planet and being able to score a PO in quick succession

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    But seriously, I don't know.
    Jakobagger, ketar and I all thought it was the right move to stop me getting Imperial.
    I'm not a mind reader, but I'm sure the other players have everything under control.

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • KetarKetar My autocomplete is a tad agressive today.Registered User regular
    Diplomacy. We guess? Doesn't seem to really matter much right now.

    @Phyphor is up.

  • jakobaggerjakobagger LO THY DREAD EMPIRE CHAOS IS RESTORED Registered User regular
    Well for my part the easy way to explain anything I do is I'm not very good at this game, so.

    bgg / steam / goodreads / Bnet: Bygasto#2537
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    I too, am not very good at this game.
    Let us all resign to losing, together, to our far superior opponents.
    In comradery, there is comfort.
    Also losing.

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    That is.
    I have my eye on all of you lot.
    Which might explain why I'm cross-eyed.

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    edited February 13
    Round 7: Start of Action Phase

    The Winnu: Select the (8) Imperial Strategy Card.
    Hacan plays Action Card "Public Disgrace", requiring Winnu to select a different Strategy Card. (AC 7 --> 6)
    Select the (7) Technology Strategy Card.
    The Emirates of Hacan: Select the (1) Leadership Strategy Card.
    The Naalu Collective: Select the (6) Warfare Strategy Card, gaining 1 Trade Good. (TG 0 --> 1)
    Sardakk N'orr: Select the (4) Construction Strategy Card, gaining 1 Trade Good. (TG 4 --> 5)
    The Embers of Muaat: Select the (8) Imperial Strategy Card.
    The L1z1x Mindnet: Select the (2) Diplomacy Strategy Card.

    Trade Goods are placed on the unselected Strategy Cards, (3) Politics and (5) Trade.

    At the end of the Strategy Phase, Winnu plays Naalu's promissory note "Gift of Prescience" to take initiative value 0 for the remainder of the round.



    Order of Play
    The Winnu: (0) Technology Current Player
    The Emirates of Hacan: (1) Leadership
    The L1z1x Mindnet: (2) Diplomacy
    Sardakk N'orr: (4) Construction
    The Naalu Collective: (6) Warfare
    The Embers of Muaat: (8) Imperial

    MrBlarney on
    chirisigtext.png
  • MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    edited February 13
    Phyphor wrote: »
    Uh... Why didn't you take Imperial @mrbody

    Probably for the same reasons Hacan or Naalu didn't take it? The primary is useless to me. Why is it my job to take the hit and stop the leader just so someone else can win instead?

    The only difference denying Muaat that card is whether they win during the action phase or win in the status phase. If they can't score the remaining 1 VP with Mecatol then they can easily score it with at least two public objectives. There's a slim chance you or Hacan could beat or tie them if they didn't have Imperial, but why I would care which not-me player won?

    I wasn't exactly seeing any bribe offers from the other leaders to take a useless strategy card. The galaxy doesn't run on charity.

    MrBody on
    discrider
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Phyphor wrote: »
    Uh... Why didn't you take Imperial mrbody
    01lglqfj5du8.jpeg

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    MrBody wrote: »
    Phyphor wrote: »
    Uh... Why didn't you take Imperial @mrbody

    Probably for the same reasons Hacan or Naalu didn't take it? The primary is useless to me. Why is it my job to take the hit and stop the leader just so someone else can win instead?

    The only difference denying Muaat that card is whether they win during the action phase or win in the status phase. If they can't score the remaining 1 VP with Mecatol then they can easily score it with at least two public objectives. There's a slim chance you or Hacan could beat or tie them if they didn't have Imperial, but why I would care which not-me player won?

    I wasn't exactly seeing any bribe offers from the other leaders to take a useless strategy card. The galaxy doesn't run on charity.

    With it you have at least a theoretical action round win of kick muaat off, score your SO (or the SO imperial would draw you) in the action phase, score a 1 VP with imperial, grab the point form naalu and/or get a support for the throne. Construction does nothing for you

    And you certainly seemed concerned enough about handing me or muaat an instant win with the placement of the VP naalu got, it seems odd that you would then give out the same instant win through strategy card picks

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    edited February 13
    Where else could the VP go?
    It was either Naalu or Lizix and Lizix has the worse fleet and racial to protect it.

    Oh... You meant that he cared enough to vote to not give a leader the VP compared to the (greater) sacrifice of his strategy card.
    Not that he voted Naalu and so handed me or you the win by voting.
    I completely misread that

    discrider on
    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Well yeah. Voting that cost me nothing for a VP that had to go somewhere.

    Taking a worthless strategy card would have cost me something for no benefit. I can do something with construction that might squeeze out another VP for me.

  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    @Phyphor it is your action

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Alright, well let's just roll some dice I suppose

    Activate rarron. Move war sun in

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Phyphor wrote: »
    Alright, well let's just roll some dice I suppose

    Activate rarron. Move war sun in

    With or without the ground force in jakobaggers home system?

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Meh, leave them behind

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    @jakobagger you're under attack

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • jakobaggerjakobagger LO THY DREAD EMPIRE CHAOS IS RESTORED Registered User regular
    A move I am mostly doing because it is funny:

    Play another Skilled Retreat and move my ships from Rarron to Arinam-Meer system.

    bgg / steam / goodreads / Bnet: Bygasto#2537
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    @Phyphor
    No sab

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Oh come on

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • jakobaggerjakobagger LO THY DREAD EMPIRE CHAOS IS RESTORED Registered User regular
    I am just keeping up my side of our peace agreement

    bgg / steam / goodreads / Bnet: Bygasto#2537
    KetarAdelphiaMojo_JojoIron Weasel
  • LykouraghLykouragh Registered User regular
    no sab

  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    I'll leave it up to @Phyphor to decide whether or not he wants to go for the full Sabotage call (considering it's so close to the end of the game) or if he's willing to just pass the turn to jakobagger now.

    Either way, I want to note that I'll be out of town for a fair bit of the weekend, starting Friday, so I may not be as present to perform game resolution duties. Your patience is appreciated.

    chirisigtext.png
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    edited February 15
    I will gladly take over all game running duties! and ref this game in a totally impartial manner

    Everyone can just PM me all their private card info to start with while Blarney sends me the entire deck and objective pile.

    Look at that, I already see a mistake. I should have 20 trade goods.

    MrBody on
  • jakobaggerjakobagger LO THY DREAD EMPIRE CHAOS IS RESTORED Registered User regular
    Spend a Tactics counter (3>2) to activate Mecatol Rex and get my ceasefire card back from the Winnu.

    bgg / steam / goodreads / Bnet: Bygasto#2537
  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    For confirmation: @Phyphor, will you play Hacan's Ceasefire card?

    chirisigtext.png
  • PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Nope, bring it on @jakobagger

    Magic Box
    Academician Prokhor "Phyphor" Zakharov, Chief Scientist of China, Provost of the University of Planet - SE++ Megagame
  • jakobaggerjakobagger LO THY DREAD EMPIRE CHAOS IS RESTORED Registered User regular
    Wait what?

    I guess I have entirely misunderstood how ceasefires work then, whoops. I even re-read the text in the OP before doing this turn, which made it seem like it was automatic like I remembered it.

    I have no actual intention of making a suicide attack on Mecatol Rex, the whole purpose was to force back the ceasefire.

    To be clear, this is just me complaining about soimething that is probably my own fault, not angling for a re-do. Not like I have much chance of winning either way.

    bgg / steam / goodreads / Bnet: Bygasto#2537
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    So, all Promissory notes, except Support for the Throne, are held in your hand until you want to play them, like ACs

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
    Ketar
  • MrBlarneyMrBlarney Registered User regular
    My apologies if that was unclear. As per rule 60.1, play of Promissory notes is not compulsory, unless otherwise stated (as it is with Support for the Throne).

    If there's no further activity on @jakobagger's turn, then the action is now on @Ketar.

    chirisigtext.png
  • KetarKetar My autocomplete is a tad agressive today.Registered User regular
    edited February 16
    Activate Bereg-Lirta.

    I believe @discrider needs to make a decision as to whether to use my Ceasefire or not before I declare my action card plays and movement.

    Ketar on
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    edited February 16
    Nah.
    @ketar Attacker declares ACs first.
    You got one on this trigger you gotta play it before my Ceasefire.

    ...or that +1 speed tech

    discrider on
    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Eh +1 Speed tech is free.
    So.
    :whistle:
    Come and 'ave a go if you think you're 'ard enuf!

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • KetarKetar My autocomplete is a tad agressive today.Registered User regular
    discrider wrote: »
    Nah.
    @ketar Attacker declares ACs first.
    You got one on this trigger you gotta play it before my Ceasefire.

    ...or that +1 speed tech

    Fine. Play Flank Speed. Any response before I declare movement?

  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Still thinking @jakobagger needs to explicitly say whether he's attacking MR.
    Not that it likely affects this at all

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Oh.
    And I guess No sab
    I don't know what the card is for, but ok.
    I don't care about that system in the least @Ketar

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
  • KetarKetar My autocomplete is a tad agressive today.Registered User regular
    Ok then.

    No movement, end of that action. No second action.

    1/5/1


    @MrBody

  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Yeah, so, due to timing in this game being dumb:
    @ketar gets first 'after a system is activated' ability
    This can be used on the Gravity Drive Tech which no-one would not use if they needed it
    Then I go next and decline to play Ceasefire.
    Then @ketar can AC on the same trigger

    So if @ketar doesn't want to use that AC he doesn't have to :/

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Oh hey! A knife!
Sign In or Register to comment.