As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Statistics and sample size

Alistair HuttonAlistair Hutton DrEdinburghRegistered User regular
I am a computer programmer

I am writing a a new service to replace an old service.

I want to be confident that my new service works like the old service.

The old service gets called 30,000,000 times a day.

If I was to randomly sample 1000 of those requests from the last day and hit my new service with them how confident would I be that my new service matches the old service for that days load of queries if it came back 100% matching.

How confident would I be that it was 50% fucked if 50% of the results came back not-matching.

I feel this is close to survey margin-of-error calculation but I know that my intuitive grasp of statistics is often completely wrong so would appreciate guidance.

(Addendum: We are planning on doing a full traffic replication as well (so replaying all thirty million requests) but want a quick comparison we can be confident in for doing iterative changes during development)

I have a thoughtful and infrequently updated blog about games http://whatithinkaboutwhenithinkaboutgames.wordpress.com/

I made a game, it has penguins in it. It's pay what you like on Gumroad.

Currently Ebaying Nothing at all but I might do in the future.

• Options
    EncEnc A Fool with Compassion Pronouns: He, Him, HisRegistered User regular
    You probably want a sample size closer to ~2500

• Options
    Dis'Dis' Registered User regular
    Is the check a binary match/not-match?

Without sampling everything you'll never be 100% confident. You need to decide a confidence level you're happy with (most shorthand 95% but you can choose 99% or 99.9% etc).