[Cooking Thread] Burning questions and searing remarks

• shrykeshryke Member of the Beast Registered User regular
    Javen wrote: »
    Ketar wrote: »
    I've made creme brulee hundreds of times in many different ovens - I'm a pastry school grad who worked in pastry for a time. It really isn't that fiddly. Unless you have an oven that is seriously miscalibrated and just not hitting your desired temp at all, you're going to be fine.

Making caramels or other candies? Those things require very specific temperatures to be hit - often for specific lengths of time as well while taking care not to exceed that temperature. Creme brulee is not at all that dependent on precision in temperature.

Cool! No one said that you can't make it in an oven. But the benefits to sous vide are pretty clear; namely that it removes more points of failure for people who aren't trained or haven't made it hundreds of times.

Determining doneness by sight or touch isn't necessary. You don't need to test via jiggle where you're forced to open the oven and maybe it's too jiggly or not jiggly enough. You don't need to worry about oven hot-spots, so what if one dish heats up faster than another? Not insurmountable obstacles, but still kind of a pain, and pretty common.

Creme brulee is best pulled after hitting 170-175, so I'd call a 5 degree range to be pretty precise, considering you don't really want to keep opening the oven to check.

It's certainly not the only way to make creme brulee, and does result in a slightly different texture that is going to make the results subjective to taste, but the stated benefits are very much "it's more foolproof than the alternatives"

America's Test Kitchen recently posted their recipe for sous vide creme brulee and it's like stupidly easy. Mix a bunch of stuff in a bowl, strain, fill jars, cook in water bath.

AbsoluteZeroAlazull
  • breton-brawlerbreton-brawler Registered User regular