Options

[Android] Thread v. 2018: Pixel 6 is out. Google might be bad at phones.

1959698100101105

Posts

  • Options
    GilgaronGilgaron Registered User regular
    Yeah I'd say it depends on how productive you want/need to be on a phone on the go. When my wife broke her Surface Duo I encouraged her to get the Fold4 because she's at a little startup and randomly being able to multitask from wherever we happen to be is a boon. I will admit that she uses it closed most of the time and occasionally when watching her struggle with the narrow front screen while deep in thought I'll remind her that it opens up and then she can get done quickly. The wide/multiwindow format phones do make using work applications where you may also be using an authenticator app more pleasant, as well.

  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    Gilgaron wrote: »
    Yeah I'd say it depends on how productive you want/need to be on a phone on the go. When my wife broke her Surface Duo I encouraged her to get the Fold4 because she's at a little startup and randomly being able to multitask from wherever we happen to be is a boon. I will admit that she uses it closed most of the time and occasionally when watching her struggle with the narrow front screen while deep in thought I'll remind her that it opens up and then she can get done quickly. The wide/multiwindow format phones do make using work applications where you may also be using an authenticator app more pleasant, as well.

    oh god yes. Logging into apps with the app on the left, my password manager app on the top right, and my authenticator app in the bottom right reduced the amount of time it took to set up/log into everything by half.

    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    emp123emp123 Registered User regular
    It says the pixels got an update for it but other devices are still at risk

    Not entirely true. They haven't released it for the Pixel 6 range yet.

    My 6a just got the March update today so if you havent received it yet you might want to try forcing it.

    https://googleprojectzero.blogspot.com/2023/03/multiple-internet-to-baseband-remote-rce.html?m=1

  • Options
    MugsleyMugsley DelawareRegistered User regular
    I had to go check for updates but my 6 Pro got it Tue/Wed

  • Options
    Ear3nd1lEar3nd1l Eärendil the Mariner, father of Elrond Registered User regular
    I got mine today on my 6 Pro, so that's good. I need to check my wife and daughter's phones (6a) to see if it's ready. They are both terrible at running updates, so I need to do it for them.

  • Options
    SirToastySirToasty Registered User regular
    edited March 2023
    My 6a (on Fi) had the March 5th update. Is that the one?

    Edit: wait no I have a 6, not a 6a.

    SirToasty on
  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    SirToasty wrote: »
    My 6a (on Fi) had the March 5th update. Is that the one?

    Edit: wait no I have a 6, not a 6a.

    yes

    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    The Dude With HerpesThe Dude With Herpes Lehi, UTRegistered User regular
    So this is probably stupid, but I just had my phone fuck up my ability to transfer myself money for the next few days and I'm extremely pissed off, and I need help to make sure it doesn't happen again.

    I've got a pixel 6 pro, if that matters.

    What happened was my bank needed to call me from another line to verify I was the one making a transfer, while I was on the line with them. Fine. I accepted it, said the previous call was on hold, I verified and when it hung up it switched back (on the screen) to the original call.

    But there was nothing. When I dragged down the top of the screen it said the call was still on hold. When I'd go to the call, there was literally no button anywhere on the screen that said end hold or switch call or anything other than mute, audio source, dialer, or add call.

    Muting didn't do anything, changing audio didn't do anything, add call just brought up my contacts and didn't give me any option.

    Eventually they hung up and because of time zones, they were closed when I tried to call back, so I have to wait until my Tuesday to call back and attempt.

    So how the flying fuck do you return to a call that was put on hold when there is no god damned button to do so? Not on the call screen, not on the notification area when I drag down; there's nothing in the phone app (default android phone app) settings that I could find (I went through every single option) that says anything about call waiting or hold. Googling it either gives me instructions that basically say "push the button that says hold", which doesn't fucking help because there was no god damned button, or to enable googles "hold for me", which isn't an option on my phone, and has nothing to do with the problem to begin with.

    Steam: Galedrid - XBL: Galedrid - PSN: Galedrid
    Origin: Galedrid - Nintendo: Galedrid/3222-6858-1045
    Blizzard: Galedrid#1367 - FFXIV: Galedrid Kingshand

  • Options
    furlionfurlion Riskbreaker Lea MondeRegistered User regular
    Have you ever put someone on hold before? I don't think I ever have so I actually don't know how it works. Can you get a friend to call and practice with? Maybe it was a one time thing or maybe there really is someone wrong.

    sig.gif Gamertag: KL Retribution
    PSN:Furlion
  • Options
    Inquisitor77Inquisitor77 2 x Penny Arcade Fight Club Champion A fixed point in space and timeRegistered User regular
    Guys you just have to put the phone on and off the hook real quick and it switches over.

  • Options
    The Dude With HerpesThe Dude With Herpes Lehi, UTRegistered User regular
    I wish it was still that easy.

    And no, I never have done a hold call that I can recall, on my phone.

    I mean, I did plenty way back in the day when it was just a click of the hook to switch, but for whatever reason I don't think I ever have on a cell phone, and definitely not with an Android.

    I'll just be sure to get an extension before attempting it next time, and try to call earlier before they close. Or try with my daughter and wife's phones and see what happens.

    Steam: Galedrid - XBL: Galedrid - PSN: Galedrid
    Origin: Galedrid - Nintendo: Galedrid/3222-6858-1045
    Blizzard: Galedrid#1367 - FFXIV: Galedrid Kingshand

  • Options
    urahonkyurahonky Resident FF7R hater Registered User regular
    Might be a very specific question but I need some help. I'm doing duolingo on my phone and I am currently brushing up on my German. But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to to type "ß" for something like "groß". I have installed the german language gboard, I have gone through and added German as a language on my phone. I even downloaded a German keyboard app but I still cannot find a way to type this character. Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

  • Options
    m!ttensm!ttens he/himRegistered User regular
    edited April 2023
    urahonky wrote: »
    Might be a very specific question but I need some help. I'm doing duolingo on my phone and I am currently brushing up on my German. But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to to type "ß" for something like "groß". I have installed the german language gboard, I have gone through and added German as a language on my phone. I even downloaded a German keyboard app but I still cannot find a way to type this character. Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

    I just have the default Google keyboard on my pixel 5a but it's just a long-press on the S (since it's basically a double-s making the "sz" sound) for me

    edit: corrected because I was actually curious on the origins of the Eszett

    m!ttens on
  • Options
    urahonkyurahonky Resident FF7R hater Registered User regular
    m!ttens wrote: »
    urahonky wrote: »
    Might be a very specific question but I need some help. I'm doing duolingo on my phone and I am currently brushing up on my German. But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to to type "ß" for something like "groß". I have installed the german language gboard, I have gone through and added German as a language on my phone. I even downloaded a German keyboard app but I still cannot find a way to type this character. Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

    I just have the default Google keyboard on my pixel 5a but it's just a long-press on the S (since it's basically a double-s making the "sz" sound) for me

    edit: corrected because I was actually curious on the origins of the Eszett

    Sure enough it's there! Thank you! It didn't show up on the keyboard UI so I figured it wasn't there (only the # symbol was).

  • Options
    V1mV1m Registered User regular
    My faithful ole Pixel 2 still works but clearly the days of its battery are numbered. I'm recharging it 2x a day.

    Idea! Instead of buying new smartphone, get a tablet and a non smart phone?

    New smartphones are getting increasingly bigger (and also hilariously expensive), to the point where I feel like it's maybe easier to just have a cheap non-smartphone for the quotidian business of making the occasional infrequent phone call or send a text to old people, and have a more comfortable sized screen for the smart- part of having a smartphone. What are your thoughts? Any pitfalls to avoid?

    Related: my employer is getting increasing pushy about trying to make us install stuff on our phones, and it would be convenient to be able to say "sorry, I don't have one, you'll have to issue me with one if you want me to install your janky-ass RSA app that for some reason wants to know my location"

    I was looking at a phone something like: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nokia-Featu...09K4CTJMJ?sbo=
    And a tablet along the lines of: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Blackview-A.../dp/B0BKQ6DW33

    Assuming that this isn't a dumb terrible idea to start with, I'm very open to suggestions on both elements of the hardware.

  • Options
    m!ttensm!ttens he/himRegistered User regular
    My work supplies a phone and all my work apps (2FA, email, calendar, teams, etc) live on that phone. It's usually last years' model except 3 weeks after I decide to upgrade my phone then they'll put the latest Samsung or iPhone out. Doesn't matter how long I wait after my upgrade is eligible; I'm pretty sure IT makes their decision based off when my employee number makes a new phone requisition. I am glad they offer an Android phone because I'm hopeless in iPhone infrastructure but a bunch of the Android versions of the various company apps suck in comparison to their iPhone versions.

  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    V1m wrote: »
    My faithful ole Pixel 2 still works but clearly the days of its battery are numbered. I'm recharging it 2x a day.

    Idea! Instead of buying new smartphone, get a tablet and a non smart phone?

    New smartphones are getting increasingly bigger (and also hilariously expensive), to the point where I feel like it's maybe easier to just have a cheap non-smartphone for the quotidian business of making the occasional infrequent phone call or send a text to old people, and have a more comfortable sized screen for the smart- part of having a smartphone. What are your thoughts? Any pitfalls to avoid?

    Related: my employer is getting increasing pushy about trying to make us install stuff on our phones, and it would be convenient to be able to say "sorry, I don't have one, you'll have to issue me with one if you want me to install your janky-ass RSA app that for some reason wants to know my location"

    I was looking at a phone something like: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nokia-Featu...09K4CTJMJ?sbo=
    And a tablet along the lines of: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Blackview-A.../dp/B0BKQ6DW33

    Assuming that this isn't a dumb terrible idea to start with, I'm very open to suggestions on both elements of the hardware.

    Personally, I think there are too many services that rely/make more sense on a smartphone than a tablet. Do you use 2FA on every service as you should? well if you're using 2FA apps (which you also should be) you need a smartphone for those lest you decided to carry around a tablet all the time. That's just the first and easiest example for me.

    Think of it this way. You're told that in a scenario you can take only one device with you in a certain situation, a dumbphone will not do the trick in 2023. And really, why would you carry two devices instead of one?

    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    V1mV1m Registered User regular
    But the thing is that I am not in that scenario. I absolutely can choose to carry either or both devices.

  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    But again. The "Why"?

    Why choose to carry two devices when one will work? Why artificially make one device worse? Why manage multiple devices? And sure, you can carry either or both. But you won't all the time. And all it takes is one instance of you taking the dumbphone and not the tablet, and suddenly needing the functionality and not having it for it to become a thing.

    What services do you use for messaging? if you rely on whatsapp, well then you actually need a smartphone. Facebook Messenger not so much, but then the tablet needs a connection in order to work. Are you going to tether the dumphone to it (assuming it has the capability?) in the times when you need it? If you're going to do SMS, are you going back to T9 text?

    Again, my personal opinion, but I lean into the "dumb terrible idea" as you phrased it. It feels like making the primary device experience significantly compromised for no good reason.

    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    Inquisitor77Inquisitor77 2 x Penny Arcade Fight Club Champion A fixed point in space and timeRegistered User regular
    I've had a similar idea in the past, but I don't think I would consider downgrading to a dumb phone. There are plenty of cheap smartphones available that can do the job in a pinch that don't take up tons of real estate. My last phone was a Pixel 4a and it was a relatively small phone that still did all the smartphone things you'd expect.

    I'd start there if the primary concern is the size and portability of the phone itself. Carrying around a tablet everywhere is a nice idea but probably isn't feasible for more than 80% of your everyday tasks. Consider grocery shopping - why would you bother taking a tablet with you? If you try to take it everywhere and leave it in your car when you don't need it then that's just asking for it to get stolen.

  • Options
    DouglasDangerDouglasDanger PennsylvaniaRegistered User regular
    Just refuse to put work bullshit on your personal phone

  • Options
    XantusXantus Registered User regular
    edited April 2023
    V1m wrote: »
    But the thing is that I am not in that scenario. I absolutely can choose to carry either or both devices.

    you could also, like.. not buy a NEW phone. the refurb market is full of plenty of decent recent devices for under 100-200$. especially if you want a smaller size screen (like under 6 inches)

    Xantus on
  • Options
    MugsleyMugsley DelawareRegistered User regular
    @V1m if you really love the Pixel 2, just replace the battery.

    Also I agree with buying used phones. My last brand new phone was I think a Nexus

  • Options
    V1mV1m Registered User regular
    edited April 2023
    Mugsley wrote: »
    @V1m if you really love the Pixel 2, just replace the battery.

    Also I agree with buying used phones. My last brand new phone was I think a Nexus

    Is the battery replaceable?

    Edit: Huh, apparently it is. I assumed that it wasn't, because they hardly ever are these days.

    OK Ima go away and think.

    V1m on
  • Options
    NaphtaliNaphtali Hazy + Flow SeaRegistered User regular
    edited April 2023
    I mean they are, but they need a lot of tools, knowledge, and just being careful. If there are reputable repair places near you, they might be able to do it for you.

    Here's iFixit for Pixel 2 battery, and they don't even advise using a heat gun... which means you'll likely need to replace the entire display as well if you replace the battery as removal of the display with just a suction tool* means damaging it is a risk.

    * and isopropyl alcohol

    Naphtali on
    Steam | Nintendo ID: Naphtali | Wish List
  • Options
    tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    Naphtali wrote: »
    I mean they are, but they need a lot of tools, knowledge, and just being careful. If there are reputable repair places near you, they might be able to do it for you.

    Here's iFixit for Pixel 2 battery, and they don't even advise using a heat gun... which means you'll likely need to replace the entire display as well if you replace the battery as removal of the display with just a suction tool means damaging it is a risk.

    Yeah those brand-name phone fix places are a lot better than they used to be; they could likely install a new battery for a pretty reasonable price.

    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    V1mV1m Registered User regular
    Yeah even a bit of research indicates that this is absolutely not a Safe For V1ms process. I'll keep an eye out for and independent phone repair place and maybe ask them. I'm not under an immediate deadline, I'm pretty sure the phone has a while left, I'm just trying to get ahead of a problem for once in my damb life.

  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    the only thing that i'll mention is that while the Pixel 2 still works, and if you replace the battery will obviously be in good condition, it is no longer supported by Google and doesn't get updates anymore, including no security patches.

    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    BarrakkethBarrakketh Registered User regular
    Naphtali wrote: »
    I mean they are, but they need a lot of tools, knowledge, and just being careful. If there are reputable repair places near you, they might be able to do it for you.

    Here's iFixit for Pixel 2 battery, and they don't even advise using a heat gun... which means you'll likely need to replace the entire display as well if you replace the battery as removal of the display with just a suction tool* means damaging it is a risk.

    * and isopropyl alcohol
    They use the iOpener for heat. You microwave it, it gets really hot, and you place it over the edge that you're going to lift so you can get a pick under there to cut the adhesive and keep it separated.

    Rollers are red, chargers are blue....omae wa mou shindeiru
  • Options
    MugsleyMugsley DelawareRegistered User regular
    Holy shit it finally happened. Firefox app update today added pull-to-refresh

  • Options
    NaphtaliNaphtali Hazy + Flow SeaRegistered User regular
    Barrakketh wrote: »
    Naphtali wrote: »
    I mean they are, but they need a lot of tools, knowledge, and just being careful. If there are reputable repair places near you, they might be able to do it for you.

    Here's iFixit for Pixel 2 battery, and they don't even advise using a heat gun... which means you'll likely need to replace the entire display as well if you replace the battery as removal of the display with just a suction tool* means damaging it is a risk.

    * and isopropyl alcohol
    They use the iOpener for heat. You microwave it, it gets really hot, and you place it over the edge that you're going to lift so you can get a pick under there to cut the adhesive and keep it separated.

    yes but not for the screen itself, just other components.

    idk, I would never do something like this myself. I'd fuck it up.

    Steam | Nintendo ID: Naphtali | Wish List
  • Options
    MugsleyMugsley DelawareRegistered User regular
    Also for the record, I meant getting a phone repair place to swap batteries. Few people are technically inclined to do it themselves without some experience and confidence

  • Options
    V1mV1m Registered User regular
    wunderbar wrote: »
    the only thing that i'll mention is that while the Pixel 2 still works, and if you replace the battery will obviously be in good condition, it is no longer supported by Google and doesn't get updates anymore, including no security patches.

    Yes I'm aware of that and it was also a factor.

    To answer the "but whyyyyyy?" questions above, I don't really use my smartphone as anything but a mobile browser and to make the occasional call. I'm also kinda a big guy and carrying a tablet about on the few occasions when I'm out and about - not often - would not be a significant inconvenience. I usually wear a coat with several large pockets.

  • Options
    Ear3nd1lEar3nd1l Eärendil the Mariner, father of Elrond Registered User regular
    Barrakketh wrote: »
    Naphtali wrote: »
    I mean they are, but they need a lot of tools, knowledge, and just being careful. If there are reputable repair places near you, they might be able to do it for you.

    Here's iFixit for Pixel 2 battery, and they don't even advise using a heat gun... which means you'll likely need to replace the entire display as well if you replace the battery as removal of the display with just a suction tool* means damaging it is a risk.

    * and isopropyl alcohol
    They use the iOpener for heat. You microwave it, it gets really hot, and you place it over the edge that you're going to lift so you can get a pick under there to cut the adhesive and keep it separated.

    When I read this, at first I thought you were suggesting microwaving the phone. I'm glad I read it again... sheesh

  • Options
    CarpyCarpy Registered User regular
    My chrome is starting to behave kinda screwy. It's started putting old searches into the quick links when you open a new tab, like a single search from months ago, and it replaces links that I use every day to do it.

    Open in new tab is also being dumb. It just straight up doesn't allow me to open an image in a new tab in the current group, images can only be opened in their own tab group. Links it'll let me open in the current group but about 80% of the time it opens them at the end of the group instead of next to the tab I'm viewing

    Pixel 4a

  • Options
    BlazeFireBlazeFire Registered User regular
    Mine has been doing that searches instead of quick links thing for a few weeks. It is very annoying but seems to be a deliberate choice.

  • Options
    CarpyCarpy Registered User regular
    BlazeFire wrote: »
    Mine has been doing that searches instead of quick links thing for a few weeks. It is very annoying but seems to be a deliberate choice.

    chrome://flags/#organic-repeatable-queries

    looks like you can disable it here

  • Options
    BlazeFireBlazeFire Registered User regular
    Carpy wrote: »
    BlazeFire wrote: »
    Mine has been doing that searches instead of quick links thing for a few weeks. It is very annoying but seems to be a deliberate choice.

    chrome://flags/#organic-repeatable-queries

    looks like you can disable it here

    Holy crap, you rock. Thank you so much.

  • Options
    BahamutZEROBahamutZERO Registered User, Moderator mod
    What is a good calendar app? I've been using the samsung one that comes on my galaxy S7 for ages, but in the last year or so it's started to just... inconsistently sometimes not send reminder notifications for events I tell it to send notifications for. Which defeats most of the purpose of being a smartphone calendar app, as you can imagine.

    BahamutZERO.gif
  • Options
    MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    I just use Google. it's not great.

Sign In or Register to comment.