Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

[Liberty or Death] Let's play all of the American Revolution! - twice! Starting on page 9.

17810121317

Posts

  • TheColonelTheColonel ChicagolandRegistered User regular
    Almost seems 6 of 1, half dozen of another at that point. I either get the resources now and then make into the war OR I make it into the war but then have to stop to get resources?

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    So @admanb you could match 2 Regs and a Torise into NC and get a free wipe + win the day, but then I'd be ineligible for the next card. Or I could pass and take the event in the next card.

    Both ways you get to go all out next card. I'm leaning on pass since that way I get pieces on the board, but looking for opinion.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    So @admanb you could match 2 Regs and a Torise into NC and get a free wipe + win the day, but then I'd be ineligible for the next card. Or I could pass and take the event in the next card.

    Both ways you get to go all out next card. I'm leaning on pass since that way I get pieces on the board, but looking for opinion.

    Marching into NC sounds great to me buuuut it's probably not a good move for you. :P Passing and taking the next Event seems good for both of us.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Heh Pass it is.

    I'm mostly worried about support, unless I'm missing something as Indians I can only move to neutral. So I can lower opposition, but for us to get support it's only Reward Loyalty or Win the Day?

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Heh Pass it is.

    I'm mostly worried about support, unless I'm missing something as Indians I can only move to neutral. So I can lower opposition, but for us to get support it's only Reward Loyalty or Win the Day?

    Correct, but everything kind of feeds into that. By controlling more colonies or killing Patriot pieces you can reduce their ability to increase Opposition both in that space and overall by reducing their income.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Since both players passed it's just an event update for this turn:

    sFP4hNl.png

    @A Half Eaten Oreo

    btw the next Event card is the first potential Winters Quarters.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Gather

    Place 2 War Parties in Southwest
    Place 2 War Parties in Quebec
    Spending 1 Resource

    Trade
    Activating a War Party in Quebec
    Up to @admanb how many Resourced I get.

    Also @admanb for Limited Command, Event, or Pass (you are first next card...)

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    I'll give two and then Pass to get those back.

    @Hedgethorn

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    edited September 15
    Patriots Rabble-Rouse in North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Maryland/Delaware. Each space goes to Passive Opposition and gets a Propaganda marker. Since all three spaces are Rebellion controlled, no militia get activated.

    Patriot Resources = 0
    Total Opposition = 17


    @admanb to reveal the next card (fingers crossed for Winter Quarters!), and then first eligible on Stockbridge Indians

    Hedgethorn on
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    @Hedgethorn I'm afraid this is a Limited Command so you can only act in one space. :)

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    edited September 15
    Oh bummer! I was thinking it was command with no special action.

    Alright then, Patriots Rabble-Rouse in North Carolina. NC goes to Passive Opposition and gets a Propaganda marker, no militia get activated.

    Patriot Resources = 2
    Total Opposition = 13

    Still enough for victory if the next card is Winter Quarters...!
    @admanb

    Hedgethorn on
    Elvenshae
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Yeah I probably would've played differently had I realized how close the New York debacle brought us to an instant win. Oh well. 80% chance we're okay!

    Hedgethorn
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    tcInSzf.jpg

    BwQX3X7.png

    British Resources: 3
    Patriot Resources: 2
    French Resources: 4
    Indian Resources: 2

    Total Support: 3
    Total Opposition: 13

    Cumulative British Casualties (CBC): 3
    Cumulative Rebellion Casualties (CRC): 6
    French Prep: 14

    Phewf!

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    British will start with Naval Pressure.
    Geth, roll 1d3 for British resources

    British resources:
    1d3 3 [1d3=3]

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    British will Muster, spending two resources to muster in
    - New York, placing two Regulars and two Tories
    - Norfolk, placing two Tories

    Then they'll Reward Loyalty in New York, spending three resources to swing it to Passive Support. British go to 1 resource, Support goes to 5, and Opposition goes to 9.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    I did not notice we almost auto lost there. Seems we should make it to winter now.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited September 15
    I did not notice we almost auto lost there. Seems we should make it to winter now.

    I would make the same decision if given the chance but that failed attack against Washington was such a disaster. That was a six-point supp/opp swing. I don't mind that the game has dice, especially with how controllable they are, but it does feel like the game can swing hard on low-probability rolls.

    admanb on
  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    French are up for a limited command/event, @TheColonel

  • TheColonelTheColonel ChicagolandRegistered User regular
    @Hedgethorn how do we feel about the event? It'd make it easy for you to rally into a handful of continentals, but it also commits most of your remaining militia to the board until you do so.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    I won't say no to 3 militia in Massachusetts, if you want to send them my way.

  • TheColonelTheColonel ChicagolandRegistered User regular
    Event: 3 Militia to Massachusetts

  • TheColonelTheColonel ChicagolandRegistered User regular
    @admanb for next card

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    tcUSHq8.jpg

    nh5slhn.png

    British Resources: 1
    Patriot Resources: 2
    French Resources: 4
    Indian Resources: 2

    Total Support: 5
    Total Opposition: 9

    Cumulative British Casualties (CBC): 3
    Cumulative Rebellion Casualties (CRC): 6
    French Prep: 14

    @A Half Eaten Oreo as first eligible.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    As tasty as that Event is, giving the Patriots a full command would be disastrous.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    Patriots play Brilliant Stroke!

    Everyone else to trump it if they wish. (Except the French, who can't yet.)
    @admanb @A Half Eaten Oreo

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    Sorry, I guess only Oreo can trump, British are ineligible.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    I learned my lesson about events as first eligible.

    I'm pretty sure I have to trump. Looking at the rules for that :P

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    You get two limited commands and a special activity, in any order. Your leader has to be involved in one of the two commands.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Both options feel bad, which just means it was a good Pat move. But If I don't trump and Winter doesn't come we just lose.

    @admanb How does a scout into Mass feel?

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Hang on -- with the Brilliant Stroke the Patriots can only push to a +8 differential, right? So if WQ comes we don't auto-lose. If WQ doesn't come one of us can Brilliant Stroke the next card.

    Am I wrong?

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    If I let it resolve then he could go to plus 8 yeah.
    And if WQ doesn't happen we now have to BS "Morgan's Rifles". Which we can cause we'd both be eligible.

    I didn't think about BSing if no WQ, which I do think is best. So yeah

    No Trump from the Indians.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    @Hedgethorn to resolve his Stroke (heh).

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    I'll put together a move later tonight.

    (I actually was hoping you'd trump and waste your brilliant stroke card. I don't actually have a move planned. Oh well.)

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Hedgethorn wrote: »
    I'll put together a move later tonight.

    (I actually was hoping you'd trump and waste your brilliant stroke card. I don't actually have a move planned. Oh well.)

    It's at least someone likely we'll waste one next card tho.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    66% chance, but this way we end up with each side burning one Stroke.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    Alright, Patriots Brilliant Stroke!

    I'm pretty sure this is all legal. Someone tell me if it's not.
    First, Skirmish in New York. Remove one continental and two British regulars to casualties.
    General Washington is now alone. Per rule 1.10, he immediately moves to any space with Patriot forces. He jets off to North Carolina.

    Then, March Washington and the one continental from North Carolina to Norfolk and one militia from Virginia to Norfolk.

    Then, Battle in Norfolk.
    British Force Level = 2 Tories = 2
    Patriot Force Level = 1 Continental + Gen. Washington = 1, with one underground militia present

    No dice rolled.
    British loss level = 0 + 1 (at least one attacking side piece underground) + 1 (attacking leader) = 2
    Patriot loss level = 0

    Both Tories removed to casualties.
    Win the Day!
    Norfolk moves to active opposition.
    Also, for winning Patriots gets a free Rally in Massachusetts.
    Add one militia to Massachusetts.
    Then convert 3 of the 5 militia to continentals (the one active militia is one of the converts).

    Board Changes:
    Norfolk now Rebellion controlled and in active opposition
    Massachusetts should have a fort, 4 continentals, and two underground militia.
    Total Opposition: +2
    Rebellion Casualties: +1
    British Casualties: +4

    The French are now eligible to enter the war, in case they want to play Treaty of Alliance on the next card rather than letting the Royalists Brilliant Stroke.

    @admanb for the next card.

    Elvenshae
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited September 18
    One French win wasn't enough for ya? :P

    Rules look good.

    admanb on
    Hedgethorn
  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    admanb wrote: »
    Rules look good.

    General Washington teleporting halfway down the Eastern Seaboard after getting his New York honor guard slaughtered was the sort of thing that seemed like it should have been illegal.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Hedgethorn wrote: »
    admanb wrote: »
    Rules look good.

    General Washington teleporting halfway down the Eastern Seaboard after getting his New York honor guard slaughtered was the sort of thing that seemed like it should have been illegal.

    I agree that it's weird but on my side it felt weird that I could effectively pin Washington in the north by refusing to skirmish that cube away. I expect leaders to be far more maneuverable than armies and I think the WQ relocate option is their concession to the fact that the core COIN system doesn't really support leaders.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    The Honor Guard just sacrificed themselves while Washington escaped in the night. They'll be commemorated in statues...hopefully in Paris.

    Hedgethorn
Sign In or Register to comment.