Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

We're playing another COIN game and it's [Cuba Libre]

1246717

Posts

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    edited October 10
    March guerrilla + cash from EC to Pinar del Rio. (1 resource)
    March guerrilla from Oriente to EC. (free)
    Muscle 1 police from the EC by Las Villas to Camaguey City.

    Muscle 1 police from Havana to Camaguey City.

    Resources = 2
    @Inquisitor, who I presume will pass to take a full operation on the next card (and to delay 26July a turn).

    Editing.

    Hedgethorn on
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    @Hedgethorn the spaces you Muscle into have to either be ECs or have open Casinos.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    admanb wrote: »
    Hedgethorn the spaces you Muscle into have to either be ECs or have open Casinos.

    Oops, I misread it because the Procedure paragraph in 4.5.3 is incomplete. It says "relocate 1 to 2 police to a city" but when read with the previous paragraph, it means "relocate to a city [with an open casino]"

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    Okay, do this instead:

    March guerrilla + cash from EC to Pinar del Rio. (1 resource)
    March guerrilla from Oriente to EC. (free)
    Muscle 1 police from the EC by Oriente to Havana.
    Muscle 1 police from the EC by Las Villas to Havana.

    Resources = 2
    @Inquisitor, who I presume will pass to take a full operation on the next card (and to delay 26July a turn).

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Hedgethorn wrote: »
    admanb wrote: »
    Hedgethorn the spaces you Muscle into have to either be ECs or have open Casinos.

    Oops, I misread it because the Procedure paragraph in 4.5.3 is incomplete. It says "relocate 1 to 2 police to a city" but when read with the previous paragraph, it means "relocate to a city [with an open casino]"

    Yeah. The way the Location section of the commands is sometimes-but-not-always meant to supplement the Procedure section is a recurring pain point for COIN rules.

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Pass for 3 resources.

    @admanb for next event

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    x3F6WcN.jpg

    VDxXKQC.png

    Resources
    Government: 24
    Syndicate: 2
    26July: 1
    Directorio: 1

    Victory Conditions
    Government Support: 17
    Syndicate Open Casinos: 3
    26July Bases + Opposition: 8
    Directorio Pop + Bases: 8

    @Inquisitor

    btw this is the 18th event card so propaganda will be soon.

    Elvenshae
  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Finally getting to look at the map today not on my phone...

    Ack! @Hedgethorn why did you pull the police out of the 2 value EC? Now the space will be sabotaged and neither of us will get any profit out of it.

    Also, how did an unactivated guerrilla end up in Havana? Didn't it march in? Due to the number of cubes there wouldn't that have made it active? Sorry, catching up from work a bit still.

    Oh, it's because I didn't have control, because bases are pieces, so I didn't have the most pieces for a moment. Geeze these rules sometimes.

    Okay, well, in that case

    Full turn:

    Special Activity:

    Transport 3 troops from Santiago de Cuba to Las Villas

    Operation:

    Sweep in

    Havana, Las Villas, Santiago de Cuba moving no troops but activating all Guerrillas there.

    Total resource cost 6.

    @admanb for next eligible.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    edited October 10
    Oh crud, I missed that the rebels automatically sabotage ECs at the start of the propaganda phase. I thought they could only do that by activating as a command. I only get resources from ECs if I outnumber police, so I thought moving that unit helped me.

    Hedgethorn on
  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Hedgethorn wrote: »
    Oh crud, I missed that the rebels automatically sabotage ECs at the start of the propaganda phase. I thought they could only do that by activating as a command. I only get resources from ECs if I outnumber police, so I thought moving that unit helped me.

    Haha no worries! Learning game and all. But yeah the auto sabotage is why I responded so aggressively to the moves into the ECs.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited October 10
    Inquisitor wrote: »
    Also, how did an unactivated guerrilla end up in Havana? Didn't it march in? Due to the number of cubes there wouldn't that have made it active? Sorry, catching up from work a bit still.

    Oh, it's because I didn't have control, because bases are pieces, so I didn't have the most pieces for a moment. Geeze these rules sometimes.

    I'm pretty sure you're right and that guerrilla should be activated. The requirement is that you have support, not control (which is why my guerrillas didn't activate when they marched into Las Villas).

    That saves you 2 resources so I'll adjust it.

    admanb on
    Inquisitor
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Directorio will Pass.

    @A Half Eaten Oreo who I assume will also pass.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    I hate passing with all those active guerrillas, but spending my one resource to Assault and being broke if I'm not first eligible on the next card feels like it'd be even worse.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    The event might be better than a full turn.
    Opinion?

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    The event might be better than a full turn.
    Opinion?

    Mmm... that's a good call. I was thinking it was bad but that's because I have zero available guerrillas whereas you have three. Go for it!

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Nah I think that event is really bad and you shouldn't take it :wink:

    (I hate both of the current events so much.)

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    So thinking more about it, if I take the event, the Government will only need a limOp to win. If I pass and Fangio in Santiago de Cuba Gov will need to act twice before propaganada.

    If I take the current even do @admanb or @Inquisitor have a way to prevent a government victory?

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    I don't think that's true. Unless I'm missing something he needs to push both Camaguey city and one other space up in support and can only ever increase one space with a single command.

    Inquisitor
  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Yeah, I need all cities at ACTIVE support (not just passive, which Camaguey city is at) and total support to be 19 or higher.

    admanb
  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Ah I messed up greater than 18 and 18 or greater. You’d think a comp rng wouldn’t mess that up :P

    I will Election.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Ah I messed up greater than 18 and 18 or greater. You’d think a comp rng wouldn’t mess that up :P

    I will Election.

    Given that it's worth nothing that all the core victory conditions are marked on the track. It doesn't capture things like the governments city requirement but it helps with stuff like > vs >=.

  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    admanb wrote: »
    Ah I messed up greater than 18 and 18 or greater. You’d think a comp rng wouldn’t mess that up :P

    I will Election.

    Given that it's worth nothing that all the core victory conditions are marked on the track. It doesn't capture things like the governments city requirement but it helps with stuff like > vs >=.

    Fair enough. I’ve been limited a a phone screen for the last couple of days so mostly hoping I followed the action properly.

    Inquisitor
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Mfmmzmq.jpg

    LfC79Zf.png

    Resources
    Government: 20
    Syndicate: 2
    26July: 1
    Directorio: 2

    Victory Conditions
    Government Support: 17
    Syndicate Open Casinos: 3
    26July Bases + Opposition: 8
    Directorio Pop + Bases: 6

    @Hedgethorn

    This late propaganda is a motherfucker.

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    Rally in Havana. First, remove the guerrilla from Santiago de Cuba to available, then place one underground guerrilla in Havana.
    Profit in Havana, adding a cash marker to the underground guerrilla.
    Profit in Pinar del Rio, adding a cash marker to the guerrilla there.

    Syndicate resources = 1

    @admanb for event or limited op.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    @Hedgethorn there already is a cash on the guerrilla in Pinar del Rio -- did you mean to place a second one there or...?

  • HedgethornHedgethorn Associate Professor of Historical Hobby Horses In the Lions' DenRegistered User regular
    edited October 11
    @admanb Yes, give a second cash marker to the guerrilla in Pinar del Rio. That's explicitly permitted by 4.5.2, and is the only legal place for me to put the fourth cash marker.

    Hedgethorn on
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Oh huh. I just assumed a guerrilla could only hold one cash marker, but based on absolutely nothing.

    Elvenshae
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Directorio will take the Event and shift Havana to neutral.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    I just realized I was thinking the deck was 44 cards, for some reason, but it's actually 52, so there could still be a bunch of cards that aren't Propaganda...

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Its53TH.jpg

    GoAftH0.png

    Resources
    Government: 20
    Syndicate: 1
    26July: 1
    Directorio: 2

    Victory Conditions
    Government Support: 5
    Syndicate Open Casinos: 3
    26July Bases + Opposition: 8
    Directorio Pop + Bases: 6

    @Inquisitor

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Well, I was pretty sure it was impossible for me to win this propaganda round anyway, but now that’s definitely not in the cards.

    Which means it’s time to start cleaning up for next season.

    Full turn:

    Operation Assault in: Havana, Santiago de Cuba and Las Villas for a total of 6 resources (I think that covers every space I share with active guerillas).

    Special Activity: Airstrike in Las Villas to remove another DR piece

    @“A Half Eaten Oreo” for next move.

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    My @ is being difficult on mobile @admanb

    Still seems to be working for one word names.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Inquisitor wrote: »
    My @ is being difficult on mobile @admanb

    Still seems to be working for one word names.

    It looks like your mobile device is writing curly open/closing quotes instead of straight quotes.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    @Inquisitor are you going to remove Syndicate guerrillas (and thus grab the cash) when you assault in Havana?

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    @admanb oh but of course :D

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    Inquisitor wrote: »
    @admanb oh but of course :D

    My subtle way of asking for more information failed -- which cube (troop or police) is going to grab the cash?

  • InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Let’s go with police, more likely to stay in Havana where things are now (relatively) locked down.

  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
  • A Half Eaten OreoA Half Eaten Oreo Registered User regular
    Rally

    For a Base in Oriente. Resources back to Super Broke.

    @Hedgethorn and @admanb

    Elvenshae
  • admanbadmanb the bored genie Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    2myegY7.jpg

    v2rZPsc.png

    Resources
    Government: 14
    Syndicate: 1
    26July: 0
    Directorio: 2

    Victory Conditions
    Government Support: 5
    Syndicate Open Casinos: 3
    26July Bases + Opposition: 9
    Directorio Pop + Bases: 6

    @Hedgethorn

Sign In or Register to comment.