[MTG] Double Masters Previews, Karn Shows His Field of [email protected]#&$ to Give

1262729313234

Posts

  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    PiptheFair wrote: »
    116112006_10159090377524881_2066579656687029718_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_sid=e007fa&_nc_ohc=w2_bkK7-2kkAX9LaaVH&_nc_ht=scontent.ftpa1-1.fna&oh=1387f8c4a2c715d1fa96839c7f932595&oe=5F43A8C8

    I can't be the only one who thought of
    g61kcvblo5vg.jpeg
    Right?

    Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    PiptheFair wrote: »
    116112006_10159090377524881_2066579656687029718_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_sid=e007fa&_nc_ohc=w2_bkK7-2kkAX9LaaVH&_nc_ht=scontent.ftpa1-1.fna&oh=1387f8c4a2c715d1fa96839c7f932595&oe=5F43A8C8

    I can't be the only one who thought of
    g61kcvblo5vg.jpeg
    Right?

    Probably, because it doesn’t target lands.

    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
    VyolynceArmorocdiscriderElldrenGreen
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    What you want there is a Soul Diviner.

    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    PiptheFair wrote: »
    116112006_10159090377524881_2066579656687029718_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_sid=e007fa&_nc_ohc=w2_bkK7-2kkAX9LaaVH&_nc_ht=scontent.ftpa1-1.fna&oh=1387f8c4a2c715d1fa96839c7f932595&oe=5F43A8C8

    I can't be the only one who thought of
    g61kcvblo5vg.jpeg
    Right?

    Probably, because it doesn’t target lands.

    Oh shoot hah

    Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • PiptheFairPiptheFair Registered User regular
    there are multiple ways to remove counters, but a 4 mana 12/12 that enters tapped with no protection is not a combo you want to make happen in legacy/vintage

  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    Isnt there a card that prevent counters from being put on creatures? Gatherer on phone not being helpful .

    And would that work/stack correctly?

    Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • milskimilski UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ Registered User regular
    Solemnity would work but, again, it isn't very good. Arixmethes is best served as a commander that happens to be a powerful and hard-to-destroy guaranteed mana rock and not at all served actually being cheated into being a 12/12.

    You can't write me off like that! You're just a voice, pal! You don't know a DAMN THING ABOUT RACING!!
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    yeah if you're going to mess around with dumping counters (Solemnity, Vampire Hexmage, Thespian's Stage, Hex Parasite) you're probably better off with Dark Depths.

    VyolynceNeveron
  • PiptheFairPiptheFair Registered User regular
    strong kraken friend is a house in limited, but that's about it

  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    milski wrote: »
    Solemnity would work but, again, it isn't very good. Arixmethes is best served as a commander that happens to be a powerful and hard-to-destroy guaranteed mana rock and not at all served actually being cheated into being a 12/12.

    I prefer to let my sleepy pet wake up in its own time. Then I make it unblockable and slam into somebody's face, putting them halfway dead to commander damage in one shot. I usually only eliminate one player that way but the threat is very real.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    Another just mostly curious question. Could you fling it with one counter still on it, would casting the fling remove the counter in time?

    Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • I needed a gnome to post.I needed a gnome to post. Registered User regular
    Fling is an additional cost to cast, so it has to be a creature before you can cast

    VQqUwhO.png
    VyolynceElldren
  • ChaosHatChaosHat Trick of the lightRegistered User regular
    milski wrote: »
    Omnath is adding white, based on the pack art. So now we've got a sans-black jellybean.

    I'm interested in how they're going to have a set of six dual lands. Unless one of those "duals" is actually a new fetch or a 5C land, it seems imbalanced to have a 6 card land cycle.

    I've heard two rumors for this set! The rumor mill has been a buzz with either land token fetchland (tap, sac, pay 1 life put a forest or mountain land token into play) or double face dual lands (choose green or red producing side as it comes into play).

    Either way, being Zendikar, the sixth one would make sense to be wastes + something. Maybe wastes/wubrg pain land to represent desolation and then recovery from the eldrazi.

  • milskimilski UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ Registered User regular
    ChaosHat wrote: »
    milski wrote: »
    Omnath is adding white, based on the pack art. So now we've got a sans-black jellybean.

    I'm interested in how they're going to have a set of six dual lands. Unless one of those "duals" is actually a new fetch or a 5C land, it seems imbalanced to have a 6 card land cycle.

    I've heard two rumors for this set! The rumor mill has been a buzz with either land token fetchland (tap, sac, pay 1 life put a forest or mountain land token into play) or double face dual lands (choose green or red producing side as it comes into play).

    Either way, being Zendikar, the sixth one would make sense to be wastes + something. Maybe wastes/wubrg pain land to represent desolation and then recovery from the eldrazi.

    Land tokens make sense. I'm not sure I'd call a better City of Brass a dual land, though I guess it technically counts as stated?

    You can't write me off like that! You're just a voice, pal! You don't know a DAMN THING ABOUT RACING!!
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    The important thing is they're still not enemy-pair completing any of the three* cycles of duals that are Pioneer legal.

    *Not counting shocks

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • jgeisjgeis Registered User regular
    Well, I guess I need a set of these:

    0wdz67pmj9cs.png

  • PinfeldorfPinfeldorf Realtor Santa ClaritaRegistered User regular
    I wish I could just print out a screencap of the Breath of the Wild blood moon and use that for Blood Moon the card.

  • PiptheFairPiptheFair Registered User regular
    Pinfeldorf wrote: »
    I wish I could just print out a screencap of the Breath of the Wild blood moon and use that for Blood Moon the card.

    the one reborn or The Eclipse

  • Ivan HungerIvan Hunger Registered User regular
    ChaosHat wrote: »
    milski wrote: »
    Omnath is adding white, based on the pack art. So now we've got a sans-black jellybean.

    I'm interested in how they're going to have a set of six dual lands. Unless one of those "duals" is actually a new fetch or a 5C land, it seems imbalanced to have a 6 card land cycle.

    I've heard two rumors for this set! The rumor mill has been a buzz with either land token fetchland (tap, sac, pay 1 life put a forest or mountain land token into play) or double face dual lands (choose green or red producing side as it comes into play).

    Either way, being Zendikar, the sixth one would make sense to be wastes + something. Maybe wastes/wubrg pain land to represent desolation and then recovery from the eldrazi.

    Wastes duals don't make much sense at all in a post-Kozilek Zendikar where colorless mana is unlikely to be a major or even minor mechanical theme.

    Wizards of the Coast has made it very clear that they're trying to distance this set from Battle Block as much as possible. Referencing Battle Block's mechanical themes would be very counter-productive toward that goal.

  • ChaosHatChaosHat Trick of the lightRegistered User regular
    ChaosHat wrote: »
    milski wrote: »
    Omnath is adding white, based on the pack art. So now we've got a sans-black jellybean.

    I'm interested in how they're going to have a set of six dual lands. Unless one of those "duals" is actually a new fetch or a 5C land, it seems imbalanced to have a 6 card land cycle.

    I've heard two rumors for this set! The rumor mill has been a buzz with either land token fetchland (tap, sac, pay 1 life put a forest or mountain land token into play) or double face dual lands (choose green or red producing side as it comes into play).

    Either way, being Zendikar, the sixth one would make sense to be wastes + something. Maybe wastes/wubrg pain land to represent desolation and then recovery from the eldrazi.

    Wastes duals don't make much sense at all in a post-Kozilek Zendikar where colorless mana is unlikely to be a major or even minor mechanical theme.

    Wizards of the Coast has made it very clear that they're trying to distance this set from Battle Block as much as possible. Referencing Battle Block's mechanical themes would be very counter-productive toward that goal.

    So I don't think it's a "colorless matters" thing but it's more of a nod towards the past. I don't expect they'll repeat a lot of bfz, but there will be some flavor text mentions and other little thematic notes, and this would be one of them.

    Functionally, if the rest of the rumors are to be believed this is more like cutting in half grand coliseum and losing the etb tapped. It's a city of brass early if you need the mana fixing, or a generic later if you don't.

    I also really can't think of anything else that would work as a sixth in a rare dual land cycle. It fits so well.

  • milskimilski UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ Registered User regular
    yuFIFSN.jpg

    This is so pretty

    You can't write me off like that! You're just a voice, pal! You don't know a DAMN THING ABOUT RACING!!
    metaghostVyolynceMidniteElldrenArmoroc
  • Lord PalingtonLord Palington he.him.his History-loving pal!Registered User regular
    New Blood Moon art marks the fourth art, which means you can play one of each in a deck.



    Text in spoilers for anyone who can't load Twitter:
    [SaffronOlive: Most important part of Blood Moon coming back in Double Masters? With the box topper we now have four different arts, and playing mismatched versions is an important aspect of playing Mono-Red Prison.]

    [Official MTG Twitter Account: why though]

    SrUxdlb.jpg
  • milskimilski UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ Registered User regular
    I like that the moon is getting bloodier each time

    You can't write me off like that! You're just a voice, pal! You don't know a DAMN THING ABOUT RACING!!
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    milski wrote: »
    I like that the moon is getting bloodier each time

    It would heal if they'd just stop picking at it.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
    ZeroCow
  • Kevin CristKevin Crist I make the devil hit his knees and say the 'our father'Registered User regular
    toEqQx9.png

    "Look at me, look at me. I'm the goblin deck now."

    acpRlGW.jpg
    Steam: YOU FACE JARAXXUS| Twitch.tv: CainLoveless
  • I needed a gnome to post.I needed a gnome to post. Registered User regular
    xzsj0zhqi40e.png

    what a world

    VQqUwhO.png
    ElldrenBlackbeard7astrobstrdturtleantCrimson KingE.Coyote
  • jgeisjgeis Registered User regular
    Box-topper artwork for Thoughtseize is pretty great:

    y6bfnlx2k6kb.png

    VyolynceKalTorakKetarMatev
  • PinfeldorfPinfeldorf Realtor Santa ClaritaRegistered User regular
    That's really cool imagery. I wonder if we'll get any super abstract Seb pieces in this set.

  • XeddicusXeddicus Registered User regular
    Can a creature that can blow up enchantments respond to conclave tribunal by blowing it up? Seems yes, but want to verify.

    "For no one - no one in this world can you trust. Not men. Not women. Not beasts...this you can trust."
  • PinfeldorfPinfeldorf Realtor Santa ClaritaRegistered User regular
    Yeah, Tribunal goes on the stack, and as such, all players will get priority before the ability resolves (under normal circumstances).

  • admanbadmanb unionize your workplace Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited July 28
    Xeddicus wrote: »
    Can a creature that can blow up enchantments respond to conclave tribunal by blowing it up? Seems yes, but want to verify.

    yes

    specifically when tribunal ETBs it puts a trigger on the stack that does the actual exiling, which you can then respond to with effects that include blowing it up

    now, if tribunal had the same text as oblivion ring you would not want to do that defensively, because it results in your permanent being exiled forever

    admanb on
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    edited July 28
    admanb wrote: »
    Xeddicus wrote: »
    Can a creature that can blow up enchantments respond to conclave tribunal by blowing it up? Seems yes, but want to verify.

    yes

    specifically when tribunal ETBs it puts a trigger on the stack that does the actual exiling, which you can then respond to with effects that include blowing it up

    now, if tribunal had the same text as oblivion ring you would not want to do that defensively, because it results in your permanent being exiled forever

    Nah, they changed that rule.
    Those leave the battlefield triggers now float around until after the ETB effect.

    discrider on
    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Some sorta sentient internet aggregator
  • admanbadmanb unionize your workplace Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    discrider wrote: »
    admanb wrote: »
    Xeddicus wrote: »
    Can a creature that can blow up enchantments respond to conclave tribunal by blowing it up? Seems yes, but want to verify.

    yes

    specifically when tribunal ETBs it puts a trigger on the stack that does the actual exiling, which you can then respond to with effects that include blowing it up

    now, if tribunal had the same text as oblivion ring you would not want to do that defensively, because it results in your permanent being exiled forever

    Nah, they changed that rule.
    Those leave the battlefield triggers now float around until after the ETB effect.

    Do you have a source for that? I'm pretty sure Oblivion Ring works the same way as it always did, which is why they printed Banishing Light (and why every exile effect since using Banishing's template).

    milski
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    admanb wrote: »
    discrider wrote: »
    admanb wrote: »
    Xeddicus wrote: »
    Can a creature that can blow up enchantments respond to conclave tribunal by blowing it up? Seems yes, but want to verify.

    yes

    specifically when tribunal ETBs it puts a trigger on the stack that does the actual exiling, which you can then respond to with effects that include blowing it up

    now, if tribunal had the same text as oblivion ring you would not want to do that defensively, because it results in your permanent being exiled forever

    Nah, they changed that rule.
    Those leave the battlefield triggers now float around until after the ETB effect.

    Do you have a source for that? I'm pretty sure Oblivion Ring works the same way as it always did, which is why they printed Banishing Light (and why every exile effect since using Banishing's template).

    I literally just checked the Oring on gatherer and it’s still the same.

    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    edited July 28
    I was under the impression that the exit-the-battlefield effect became a delayed trigger at the same time that the 'until' wording was introduced.
    But that would be after the relevant ruling on oblivion ring.

    So no, I can't see an easy reference in the rules.

    discrider on
    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Some sorta sentient internet aggregator
  • astrobstrdastrobstrd So full of mercy... Registered User regular
    Yeah, they for sure haven't changed the rule, just how they template new cards. I blink mesmeric fiend'd someone on MODO just a few days back.

    Selling the Scream Podcast: https://anchor.fm/jeremy-donaldson
    Lord PalingtonVyolynceElldrenmilski
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Yeah, I'd need to find the discussion about the "until it leaves the battlefield" templating on the wizards website before I'd be able to remember what it is I'm talking about.

    Steam Community page: http://steamcommunity.com/id/discrider/
    Some sorta sentient internet aggregator
  • PiptheFairPiptheFair Registered User regular
    xzsj0zhqi40e.png

    what a world

    2020 is the worst year in recorded history

  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    Awkward that they finally reprint it now that paper play is on hiatus, but if they wanted Pauper to match up then it was either reprint it or ban it.

  • Blackbeard7Blackbeard7 Registered User regular
    I'm pretty stoked for that reprint, I offloaded a lot of stuff with paper play kinda dead but I kept my 2 favorite pauper decks

    d4As7TL.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.