Recommended sites for hosting photos?

OrcaOrca Registered User regular
I'm finally at the point where I actually want to share my photos for both feedback and to show off! What a difference 8 months makes. So I once again come to all of you for help.

Which photo hosting sites/services do you recommend and what are the tradeoffs? I'm willing to pay if necessary. Not sure if social features are a requirement or not; it might be nice to get feedback. I'm not a pro, and not looking to be a pro, FWIW.

• IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    edited June 29
    There's a photo thread in the AC if you are just looking for a place to share. Its less active than it used to be, but its still very friendly and casual.

I know Flickr is still around, but I don't know what the community is actually like in there these days. Instagram seems to be where my photographer friends ended up, even with the dimension constraints.

Theres a ton of options out there, so I would think critically about what you want: if you want to show off and get likes and dopamine spikes, I would go social media, share with your friends and hashtag your stuff.

If you want community and potential for more real feedback, advice and such, other than the forum thread I would look out for small discords or reddits. Finding good feedback in this more general social media age can be difficult! Wish I could help more directly, but I'm not a photo kid!

Edit: Sorry, looks like you've already been in the AC thread, I hadn't looked in there in a minute.

Iruka on
  • OrcaOrca Registered User regular
    It's been slow enough I thought I'd start here and branch out--I didn't want to spam everywhere with the same request at the same time. But that's a good idea to ask there specifically, so I'll go do so.