As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Streaming Services] Cable Television for the Internet Age

• Options
    thatassemblyguythatassemblyguy Janitor of Technical Debt .Registered User regular
    I’m very glad that Netflix added Hunt for the Wilderpeople, because I completely missed it when it was released in theatres.

Im not an expert so I don’t know how to classify it. Coming of age story? Maybe.

It stars Sam Neill, Julian Dennison (Firefist!), and directed by Taika Waititi.

Just a charming movie for an evening escape.

• Options
    ElJeffeElJeffe Moderator, ClubPA mod
    edited October 2020
    Yeah, Showtime stuff has always shown up on Netflix. It was HBO that doesn't show their stuff on other services.

I'm watching Tudors on Netflix right now.

Which, incidentally, isn't a bad show. I could watch Natalie Dormer be Anne Boleyn for days. And Sam Neil is fantastic. Also: Henry Cavill.

The plotting is kinda spotty, though, and the spacing of time is worse than even Game of Thrones. Like, it's seven years from when Anne meets Henry until they finally marry, but the whole affair feels like it takes place in maybe a few months or a year? And several characters show up and do a few random things and then disappear because I guess the writers were like "Hey, this person existed, I guess they should show up or whatever."

Fortunately my girlfriend studied 16th century European history, so it's like watching the show with annotations on. "Oh yeah, so the pope died offscreen there, and that's why they suddenly have a new pope, and meanwhile the King of France was off doing this stuff, but the show didn't really mention that, and this really cool thing Anne said was actually a direct quote, but she was wearing a different crown at the time."

ElJeffe on