As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[MTG] 30th Anniversary Posting only $999.99

1356792

Posts

  • jgeisjgeis Registered User regular
    lmao it just crashed, ended the game, and I didn't even get any progress towards my daily quest.

  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    Vyolynce wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Sure, but if that's all the copying in your deck she probably doesn't make the cut.

    Well, obviously. But how often is that the only copying in a deck? She copies things from Isochron, that new red enchantment, Echo Mage, whatever. J-G 2.0 is one of the rare times you get to copy artifacts with her though.

    Actually, no. She doesn't work with Isochron or Arcane Bombardment.

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
    Vyolynce
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Vyolynce wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Sure, but if that's all the copying in your deck she probably doesn't make the cut.

    Well, obviously. But how often is that the only copying in a deck? She copies things from Isochron, that new red enchantment, Echo Mage, whatever. J-G 2.0 is one of the rare times you get to copy artifacts with her though.

    Actually, no. She doesn't work with Isochron or Arcane Bombardment.

    Oh right, I was getting "not cast" and "cast without paying" confused. My bad!

    That does limit her options but you could still build a fun deck with her as a component.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    unluckywitness1.jpggraveyardshift.jpg
    I'm enjoying the wordplay in the card names for this set, like Graveyard Shift and Fight Rigging. They work in any set, but there's such a running theme of euphemisms in this setting, so they feel particularly apt.

    VyolynceIvan Hunger
  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    Vyolynce wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Vyolynce wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Sure, but if that's all the copying in your deck she probably doesn't make the cut.

    Well, obviously. But how often is that the only copying in a deck? She copies things from Isochron, that new red enchantment, Echo Mage, whatever. J-G 2.0 is one of the rare times you get to copy artifacts with her though.

    Actually, no. She doesn't work with Isochron or Arcane Bombardment.

    Oh right, I was getting "not cast" and "cast without paying" confused. My bad!

    That does limit her options but you could still build a fun deck with her as a component.

    Oh I agree. I think competitive viability will depend primarily on casualty though.

    Commander however? There are a number of popular commanders she fits right into (Volo says hi)

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    evolvingdoor.jpg
    ...weird. Birthing Pod but for number of colors, also you have to cast it with the right mana?

  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    edited April 2022
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Polaritie on
    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
    Matev
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    witnessprotection.jpg
    that's some good flavor

    KwoaruVyolynceShadowenturtleantMunkus BeaverStyrofoam SammichBahamutZEROUnbrokenEvaRMS OceanicArmorocSnicketysnickSolarjmcdonaldtzeentchling
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    witnessprotection.jpg
    that's some good flavor

    Oh man that was a perfectly fine card right up until they named the token, at which point it became hilarious.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
    KetarShadowenMunkus BeaverUnbrokenEvaMatevArmorocLucedesnever dieE.CoyotejmcdonaldtzeentchlingMoridin889
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    Polaritie wrote: »
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Doesn't it just sit in exile until you cast it, making it better than going into your hand?

    Shadowen
  • KetarKetar Come on upstairs we're having a partyRegistered User regular
    Vyolynce wrote: »
    KalTorak wrote: »
    witnessprotection.jpg
    that's some good flavor

    Oh man that was a perfectly fine card right up until they named the token, at which point it became hilarious.



    Salient image under spoiler tags for anyone who can't see the tweet.
    p7g0d5h8wfzr.jpg

    Vyolyncenever die
  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    discrider wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Doesn't it just sit in exile until you cast it, making it better than going into your hand?

    I'm afraid not - because of how it's worded, "you may cast this card" is part of the effect's resolution. Once it's resolved, your ability to cast is no longer true. Cards that let you do this say that you can cast it as long as it remains exiled.

    liEt3nH.png
    KalTorakVyolynce
  • ShadowenShadowen Snores in the morning LoserdomRegistered User regular
    discrider wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Doesn't it just sit in exile until you cast it, making it better than going into your hand?

    Was going to say, unless there's some effect that happens if/when the Door leaves the battlefield it's arguably safer there than in your hand and you get to cast it forever, not just that turn or whatever.

  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    Shadowen wrote: »
    discrider wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Doesn't it just sit in exile until you cast it, making it better than going into your hand?

    Was going to say, unless there's some effect that happens if/when the Door leaves the battlefield it's arguably safer there than in your hand and you get to cast it forever, not just that turn or whatever.

    It's the same wording as cards like Chandra Torch of Defiance

    27e5ofd193sb.png

    Cards that let you cast this turn are actually BETTER than this wording, because you have access to it the whole turn. These cards ONLY let you cast it upon effect resolution, and if you say no it's gone.

    liEt3nH.png
    VyolynceMatev
  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    s2pyl2gcz0ii.png

    +1/+1 aura, you may cast it from your graveyard by playing 2W instead.

    This is no Gryff's Boon, and no matter how much graveyard and self-mill synergy there is in the set, making this take up a slot in your deck is a big ask.

    liEt3nH.png
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    maybe some Enchantress-type EDH decks would like it, but as of now we (luckily) don't have an Enchantress in standard to make a recurring low-effect aura worth playing

  • KetarKetar Come on upstairs we're having a partyRegistered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    maybe some Enchantress-type EDH decks would like it, but as of now we (luckily) don't have an Enchantress in standard to make a recurring low-effect aura worth playing

    It would fit in just fine in a Sythis deck, sure.

  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    maybe some Enchantress-type EDH decks would like it, but as of now we (luckily) don't have an Enchantress in standard to make a recurring low-effect aura worth playing

    Yeah I know some people are going to pog out about it because of the Runes deck but those people really need to understand that it emphatically is the runes that are important for that

    liEt3nH.png
    Vyolynce
  • discriderdiscrider Registered User regular
    edited April 2022
    Shadowen wrote: »
    discrider wrote: »
    Polaritie wrote: »
    That card is just deliberately weakened in so many ways. You can just see where they took a knife to it in design.

    It's a really cool concept too, just... it needed to lose either the sorcery speed or put into exile and cast now (instead just going to hand).

    Doesn't it just sit in exile until you cast it, making it better than going into your hand?

    Was going to say, unless there's some effect that happens if/when the Door leaves the battlefield it's arguably safer there than in your hand and you get to cast it forever, not just that turn or whatever.

    It's the same wording as cards like Chandra Torch of Defiance

    27e5ofd193sb.png

    Cards that let you cast this turn are actually BETTER than this wording, because you have access to it the whole turn. These cards ONLY let you cast it upon effect resolution, and if you say no it's gone.

    Yeah, I always misunderstand this wording.
    Thanks.

    discrider on
  • Up JobUp Job Registered User regular
    s2pyl2gcz0ii.png

    +1/+1 aura, you may cast it from your graveyard by playing 2W instead.

    This is no Gryff's Boon, and no matter how much graveyard and self-mill synergy there is in the set, making this take up a slot in your deck is a big ask.

    I appreciate how it works with casualty. Boosts a creature's power to satisfy casualty costs and being playable from the graveyard helps mitigate the cost of effectively sacrificing two cards. But yeah, still probably isn't worth playing.

  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver You don't have to attend every argument you are invited to. Philosophy: Stoicism. Politics: Democratic SocialistRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    Draft chaffe

    Humor can be dissected as a frog can, but dies in the process.
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    edited April 2022
    Up Job wrote: »
    s2pyl2gcz0ii.png

    +1/+1 aura, you may cast it from your graveyard by playing 2W instead.

    This is no Gryff's Boon, and no matter how much graveyard and self-mill synergy there is in the set, making this take up a slot in your deck is a big ask.

    I appreciate how it works with casualty. Boosts a creature's power to satisfy casualty costs and being playable from the graveyard helps mitigate the cost of effectively sacrificing two cards. But yeah, still probably isn't worth playing.

    It also works with connive as a nonland card that you don't mind discarding.

    It's still a 23rd at best but it has some sneaky synergies.

    Vyolynce on
    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    Value does go up if you got, say, a couple of the double strike guy? Because a 3/2 shielded double strike swinging on turn 4 is scary.

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    you would rather play combat tricks

    liEt3nH.png
  • NobodyNobody Registered User regular
    Maybe it's intended for Light-Paws in Standard? I did a quick search and I'm not seeing a good amount of 1 CMC auras in that format.

  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    Nobody wrote: »
    Maybe it's intended for Light-Paws in Standard? I did a quick search and I'm not seeing a good amount of 1 CMC auras in that format.

    Light Paws gets same or lower mana value, there’s no reason to play 1 CMC auras unless you’re playing other 1 CMC auras

  • IlpalaIlpala Just this guy, y'know TexasRegistered User regular
    Evolving Door is such a good name though.

    FF XIV - Qih'to Furishu (on Siren), Battle.Net - Ilpala#1975
    Switch - SW-7373-3669-3011
    Fuck Joe Manchin
    VyolyncediscriderShadowen
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    That card is definitely no Sentinel's Eyes.

    I ate an engineer
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    forgecaptain.jpg
    Forge Captain
    2BR
    Creature - Human Warrior
    Whenever you sacrifice one or more creatures, Forge Captain deals 2 damage to each opponent. This ability triggers only once each turn.
    pyromanceroftheflamingmallet.jpg
    Pyromancer of the Flaming Mallet
    2R
    Creature - Viashino
    1, T: Pyromancer of the Flaming Mallet deals X damage to any target, where X is the number of permanents you sacrificed this turn.
    Fireguy of the Fiery Firehammer

    ShadowenAntoshka
  • Ivan HungerIvan Hunger Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    Fireguy of the Fiery Firehammer

    tg1auw80mxft.jpg

    NeveronArmorocShadowenRMS Oceanic
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    exoticpets.jpg
    Interesting, though probably not often much better than "create two 1/1 unblockable tokens." Having a +1/+1 counter is pretty easy so you get a 1/1 and a 2/2. Ability counters are rarer, and ones like flying or trample won't matter much since they're already unblockable.

    Just make sure you don't have a random -1/-1 counter hanging around.

    Lucedes
  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    Probably gets a shield counter on one of them, and then you're in the archetype to load them up.

    Kamigawa has deathtouch counters in green, which is the other color for Brokers (which this is on theme for), so you could suit up one as a giant unblockable jerk and the other just sits there with deathtouch?

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
  • Ivan HungerIvan Hunger Registered User regular
    It's meant to be a flexible draft signpost card. You can play it in a Brokers deck to get a shield counter or an Obscura deck to get a +1/+1 counter, but ideally you want to be playing it in a hybrid deck to get both.

    The art has an old school feel to it. Early Magic had a lot more of that kind of minimalism.

  • PinfeldorfPinfeldorf Yeah ZestRegistered User regular
    The art on the fish, to me, feels like they zoomed in on the piece to omit something else in it that didn't end up fitting the card.

    BahamutZEROMunkus Beaverturtleant
  • BahamutZEROBahamutZERO Registered User regular
    yeah the composition feels suspiciously off in that way

    BahamutZERO.gif
    Lucedes
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    https://youtu.be/ZyJNMeb7ytQ
    Suspicious Bookcase reprint

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • I needed anime to post.I needed anime to post. boom Registered User regular
    edited April 2022
    1azu6klfs7j7.png

    Note that because it is "no longer a planeswalker" certain rules no longer apply to it: damage does not remove loyalty counters, and it can no longer be attacked directly

    I needed anime to post. on
    liEt3nH.png
    ShadowenKwoaruMatev
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    geeeeez, that's potentially nuts. IIRC, making it not a walker anymore means it can't be attacked and damage doesn't remove loyalty anymore (and it doesn't die with zero loyalty). And it's potentially a huge beater?

  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    edited April 2022
    1azu6klfs7j7.png

    Note that because it is "no longer a planeswalker" certain rules no longer apply to it: damage does not remove loyalty counters, and it can no longer be attacked directly

    Although you may still activate one loyalty ability on your turn per the normal rules. (EDIT: Which, if I had paid attention, it says in reminder text.)

    Weird effect. Odd that it doesn't specify base p/t as 0/0.

    Vyolynce on
    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • KetarKetar Come on upstairs we're having a partyRegistered User regular
    If it lost all of its loyalty counters wouldn't it then be a 0/0 creature and die? Assuming it has no other counters that would be giving it +1/+1, that is.

    never die
Sign In or Register to comment.