As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[MTG] Spoiler season is ove...starting again

13468922

Posts

  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    Cururu wrote: »
    For Cunning Receiver, does the "Abilities of the permanent chosen can't be activated" effect persist after Cunning Receiver leaves the battlefield? The card doesn't specify "for as long as Cunning Receiver remains on the battlefield", so I would guess that it does persist, but there may be a rule that I'm not aware of.

    No, it's a separate clause so it's just a static ability of the card. It stops when the creature leaves play.

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
    CururuVyolynceUnbrokenEvaMunkus BeaverBoomerAang SquadMatevMoridin889
  • CururuCururu Registered User regular
    Polaritie wrote: »
    Cururu wrote: »
    For Cunning Receiver, does the "Abilities of the permanent chosen can't be activated" effect persist after Cunning Receiver leaves the battlefield? The card doesn't specify "for as long as Cunning Receiver remains on the battlefield", so I would guess that it does persist, but there may be a rule that I'm not aware of.

    No, it's a separate clause so it's just a static ability of the card. It stops when the creature leaves play.

    That makes sense. The wording was throwing me off on that one.

  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver You don't have to attend every argument you are invited to. Philosophy: Stoicism. Politics: Democratic SocialistRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    jinniefayjetmirssecondp.jpg
    It's raining cats OR dogs!

    Combine that with the treasure cat

    nr2rekwxi4nc.png
  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    Cururu wrote: »
    For Cunning Receiver, does the "Abilities of the permanent chosen can't be activated" effect persist after Cunning Receiver leaves the battlefield? The card doesn't specify "for as long as Cunning Receiver remains on the battlefield", so I would guess that it does persist, but there may be a rule that I'm not aware of.

    no, "while it remains on the battlefield" is implied - cards that add additional rules only do so while in play, unless there's further text to specify it working from the graveyard

    the only effects that are eternal regardless of the zone of the originating cards are Emblems

  • PolaritiePolaritie Sleepy Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    jinniefayjetmirssecondp.jpg
    It's raining cats OR dogs!

    Combine that with the treasure cat

    Or that "all lands produce treasures" card above. In most formats I think tapping out to make that many hasty cats is a good way to finish out a game.

    Steam: Polaritie
    3DS: 0473-8507-2652
    Switch: SW-5185-4991-5118
    PSN: AbEntropy
  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    jinniefayjetmirssecondp.jpg
    It's raining cats OR dogs!

    Combine that with the treasure cat

    or that artifact that was just spoiled that makes lands tap to create treasures 2/2 cat tokens with haste

  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver You don't have to attend every argument you are invited to. Philosophy: Stoicism. Politics: Democratic SocialistRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    yeah but the treasure artifact thing is seven mana and the catboy is 2

    nr2rekwxi4nc.png
    UnbrokenEva
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    Treasure Vault is clunkier but less vulnerable

  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    also anything that makes X tokens

    Niko Aris' shards
    Tend the Pests pest tokens (this one's instant speed, make a bunch of 3/1 dogs during the opponent's end step)
    Treasure Vault

  • I needed a gnome to post.I needed a gnome to post. boom Registered User regular
    i bolt you.

    liEt3nH.png
  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    oh no

    RIP

  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    Dovegscape

    Lucedes
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    edited April 12
    Whoops missed a page.

    milski on
    I ate an engineer
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver You don't have to attend every argument you are invited to. Philosophy: Stoicism. Politics: Democratic SocialistRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    Can someone remind me/fill me in on what the rule is for multiple replacement effects? Like, if you had Jinnie Fae and Divine Visitation out

    nr2rekwxi4nc.png
  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    ziwcqzgjijzm.png

    blatantly stealing a joke I saw elsewhere: Scavenging Cruise

    needing to tap but no mana cost seems a decent tradeoff I think? Also taking 2 at a time, and it not needing to be creatures

    I like this as repeatable graveyard hate that also grows/attacks once it's done the first job for a bit

    Munkus BeaverPolaritieVyolynceShadowenjmcdonald
  • BoomerAang SquadBoomerAang Squad Registered User regular
    Can someone remind me/fill me in on what the rule is for multiple replacement effects? Like, if you had Jinnie Fae and Divine Visitation out

    The affected player gets to choose what order the replacement effects happen.
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

    Munkus Beaver
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    Can someone remind me/fill me in on what the rule is for multiple replacement effects? Like, if you had Jinnie Fae and Divine Visitation out

    The affected player gets to choose what order the replacement effects happen.
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

    Additionally, replacement effects can't "loop"; once a specific replacement effect applies to an event, it doesn't happen again.

    So with Divine Visitation and Jinnie Fae out:

    If you create a noncreature token, only Jinnie Fae applies. You may choose to create a cat with the zoomies or a guard dog, at which point it is made into an angel instead because Divine Visitation is not a may trigger. Net result is you choose to either get a noncreature token or an angel.

    If you create a creature token, both apply and you choose the order, so you either get an angel token you may have become my cats at 2 AM or my brother's dog when there's a squirrel in the yard, or you get one of those good boys who is tragically made into a much beefier angel by force.

    I ate an engineer
    Vyolynce
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    venomconnoisseur.jpgsizzlingsoloist.jpg
    As in real life, hearing two trombone solos in a row is an invitation to violence

    UnbrokenEvaVyolynceMunkus BeaverShadowenLucedesMoridin889
  • UnbrokenEvaUnbrokenEva HIGH ON THE WIRE BUT I WON'T TRIP ITRegistered User regular
    milski wrote: »
    Can someone remind me/fill me in on what the rule is for multiple replacement effects? Like, if you had Jinnie Fae and Divine Visitation out

    The affected player gets to choose what order the replacement effects happen.
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

    Additionally, replacement effects can't "loop"; once a specific replacement effect applies to an event, it doesn't happen again.

    So with Divine Visitation and Jinnie Fae out:

    If you create a noncreature token, only Jinnie Fae applies. You may choose to create a cat with the zoomies or a guard dog, at which point it is made into an angel instead because Divine Visitation is not a may trigger. Net result is you choose to either get a noncreature token or an angel.

    If you create a creature token, both apply and you choose the order, so you either get an angel token you may have become my cats at 2 AM or my brother's dog when there's a squirrel in the yard, or you get one of those good boys who is tragically made into a much beefier angel by force.

    so with Jinnie + Chatterfang

    If you create a creature token, you could have Chatterfang happen first and turn it into creature token + squirrel token, and then have Jinnie make them both cats or dogs?

    or if you make a noncreature token, Jinnie could make it a cat/dog, and then Chatterfang could add a bonus squirrel?

  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    edited April 12
    milski wrote: »
    Can someone remind me/fill me in on what the rule is for multiple replacement effects? Like, if you had Jinnie Fae and Divine Visitation out

    The affected player gets to choose what order the replacement effects happen.
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

    Additionally, replacement effects can't "loop"; once a specific replacement effect applies to an event, it doesn't happen again.

    So with Divine Visitation and Jinnie Fae out:

    If you create a noncreature token, only Jinnie Fae applies. You may choose to create a cat with the zoomies or a guard dog, at which point it is made into an angel instead because Divine Visitation is not a may trigger. Net result is you choose to either get a noncreature token or an angel.

    If you create a creature token, both apply and you choose the order, so you either get an angel token you may have become my cats at 2 AM or my brother's dog when there's a squirrel in the yard, or you get one of those good boys who is tragically made into a much beefier angel by force.

    so with Jinnie + Chatterfang

    If you create a creature token, you could have Chatterfang happen first and turn it into creature token + squirrel token, and then have Jinnie make them both cats or dogs?

    or if you make a noncreature token, Jinnie could make it a cat/dog, and then Chatterfang could add a bonus squirrel?

    Chatterfang and Jinnie both apply to any token creation, but yes, I believe this is correct. You either apply Chatterfang first, and then get token + squirrel and can choose to make each of them either a cat or a dog, or you apply Jinnie first and make a cat or a dog and then the squirrel tags along. I think you'd almost always apply Chatterfang first since it gives you more flexibility (and better bodies).

    E: Actually, I'm like 90% certain that if you applied Jennie then Chatterfang, you could not apply Jennie to the squirrel creation, but not 100% certain. Contact an actual judge for that one.

    milski on
    I ate an engineer
    UnbrokenEvaBoomerAang Squad
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    incandescentaria.jpg

    Wasn't Kitt Kanto very much not a magical murder singer in her side story?

    What the hell happened between the writing creatives and the set creatives?

    I ate an engineer
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    Kitt's side story was her origin. She's learned a couple of defensive tricks since then.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    I mean, sure, but between that and the angels all showing up its kind of like the story was mostly a prequel for what is actually on the cards.

    I ate an engineer
    Vyolynce
  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    E15PZTL_d.webp?maxwidth=640&shape=thumb&fidelity=medium

    Carly Mazur of "that Faithless Looting Art" got a new card and man it slaps.

    I ate an engineer
    VyolynceBahamutZEROTynnandiscriderjmcdonald
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    edited April 12
    Mazur's art is really growing on me

    speaking of art, swap the trombone for a saxophone and Sizzling Soloist could be Bleeding Gums Murphy

    KalTorak on
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    fleetfootdancer.jpg
    Michael Flatley can lay a beatdown

  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    edited April 12
    milski wrote: »
    I mean, sure, but between that and the angels all showing up its kind of like the story was mostly a prequel for what is actually on the cards.

    There were a lot of problems with the main story, IMO. Like... any explanation of Ob's motivation comes to mind.
    milski wrote: »
    E: Actually, I'm like 90% certain that if you applied Jennie then Chatterfang, you could not apply Jennie to the squirrel creation, but not 100% certain. Contact an actual judge for that one.

    I haven't been an "actual" judge for a while but yes. A replacement effect can only affect a given event once.

    Vyolynce on
    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
    milskiIvan Hunger
  • Styrofoam SammichStyrofoam Sammich WANT. normal (not weird)Registered User regular
    Man, three color cyle sets always bring the coolest mechanics

    wq09t4opzrlc.jpg
    Ilpala
  • I needed a gnome to post.I needed a gnome to post. boom Registered User regular
    it's very funny to me that that post comes after "and here's the keyword soup"

    liEt3nH.png
    Styrofoam SammichShadowenZeroCowBoomerAang SquadKharnor
  • NeveronNeveron SwedenRegistered User regular
    hey, giving a three-colored creature three keywords representing each of the colors is a tried and true tradition dating back to the lightning angels and mantis riders of yore

    ...just be glad it's not Sphinx of the Steel Wind

    Moridin889
  • BahamutZEROBahamutZERO Registered User regular
    edited April 13
    KalTorak wrote: »
    Mazur's art is really growing on me

    speaking of art, swap the trombone for a saxophone and Sizzling Soloist could be Bleeding Gums Murphy

    Even that faithless looting had pretty good art originally, they just made it terrible by cropping it weirdly IIRC

    BahamutZERO on
    BahamutZERO.gif
    ArmorocMunkus BeaverGreenMoridin889
  • KwoaruKwoaru Registered User regular
    KalTorak wrote: »
    Mazur's art is really growing on me

    speaking of art, swap the trombone for a saxophone and Sizzling Soloist could be Bleeding Gums Murphy

    Even that faithless looting had pretty good art originally, they just made it terrible by cropping it weirdly IIRC

    Oh no the full art is still pretty bad, the whole piece is a big swing and a big miss

    Social Climber still looks kinda off but its way better and the flatly patterned backgrounds work pretty well with the look of this set

    2x39jD4.jpg
    ZeroCow
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    cementshoes.jpg
    Equipped creature gets +3/+3 and has "At the beginning of your end step, tap this creature."
    Equipped creature doesn't untap during the controller's untap step.
    Equip 2

    VyolyncePolaritieMatevShadowenArmorocMoridin889
  • VyolynceVyolynce Registered User regular
    Only Magic would turn Cement Shoes into an offensive weapon.

    nedhf8b6a4rj.jpgsig.gif
    (Former) Gaming Unplugged columnist and video game reviewer at Snackbar Games
    AC:NH Chris from Glosta SW-5173-3598-2899 DA-4749-1014-4697
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    my only note would be maybe jack it to +4/+4 and have "equipped creature loses flying."

    KharnorVyolynceMunkus Beaver
  • CururuCururu Registered User regular
    If there's a good threaten effect, then those shoes could work well with that. Opponents are already disincentivized to block a temporarily stolen creature, and giving it +3/+3 would either force some bad blocks or punch in some extra damage, and then they get the creature back arrested.

  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    corpseexplosion.jpg
    Corpse Explosion
    1BR
    Sorcery
    As an additional cost to cast this spell, exile a creature card from your graveyard.
    Corpse Explosion deals damage equal to the exiled card's power to each creature and planeswalker

    widespreadtheft.jpg
    Widespread Theft
    2R
    Enchantment
    Hideaway 5
    Whenever you cast multicolor spell, create a treasure token. then you may pay WUBRG.
    If you do, you may play the exiled card without paying its mana cost.

  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    attendedsocialite.jpgpugnaciouspugilist.jpg
    Pugnacious Pugilist
    3RR
    Creature - Ogre Warrior
    Whenever Pugnacious Pugilist attacks, create a 1/1 devil tapped and attacking with "when this creature dies deal 1 damage to any target"
    Blitz 3R
    This is an egregious case of flavor text misplacement.

  • milskimilski Poyo! Registered User regular
    Cururu wrote: »
    If there's a good threaten effect, then those shoes could work well with that. Opponents are already disincentivized to block a temporarily stolen creature, and giving it +3/+3 would either force some bad blocks or punch in some extra damage, and then they get the creature back arrested.

    Bad news! Threaten is at uncommon, 3R to steal + make a treasure.

    I ate an engineer
Sign In or Register to comment.