Options

Teach me to troubleshoot internet problems

TalkaTalka Registered User regular
edited June 2023 in Help / Advice Forum
I’m a generally tech savvy guy. When my laptop has software issues or my desktop has hardware issues, I’m normally able to diagnose those issues by isolating and testing each potential source of the problem in turn.

For the life of me, I don’t know how to troubleshoot internet connectivity problems. I don’t know how to diagnose and test potential problems myself. And when I seek outside help, I either get unhelpful basic suggestions from official support services like Xfinity to just reset my router or hyper-specific technical suggestions from subreddits on possible advanced settings to change with no explanation on what those settings affect or why they might be causing my specific problem.

So for this thread, I’ll describe my specific problem, and I’ll welcome specific suggestions on how to fix the problem… but what I really want are suggestions on on to start learning to monitor/diagnose/fix this shit myself.

Here’s my setup: I have “Xfinity Gigabit Extra Internet” with xFi Complete that provides unlimited data and an xFi Gateway modem/router. I live in a 3-story 3,000 sqft single-family house. There is almost no Ethernet wiring from the gateway to any devices — everything is on WiFi apart from a couple smart device gateways. I added two Xfinity extender pods to get better coverage on the top and bottom floors. Our house has ~4 laptops/PCs, 2 phones, 2 TVs with streaming devices, a Ring alarm station connected to ~5 home monitoring devices (contact sensors and motion sensors), a Ring doorbell, a dozen Philips Hue lights connected to a Philips Hue gateway, and a dozen Alexa devices.