As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How to start on Stocks

TetsugenTetsugen Registered User regular
edited August 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I was curious if there are any book recommendations for someone who's planning to start playing the stock market from Canada ? I have no experience and would like to do some research.

Tetsugen on

• Options
    FristleFristle Registered User regular
    edited August 2007
    Try starting with The Motley Fool.

Fristle on
    Fristle.jpg
  • Options
    EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited August 2007
    You plan to "play" the stock market from no experience? I've got a bridge in minnesota I could sell you (MN native here). The stock market only seems easy in hindsight. Like, I should've bought a shitload of Apple stock when it was $30, but back then there was no way in hell I would've bought it.

Seriously, a basic book on Finance would get you off to a very good start, and hopefully help explain why individual day trading on a per-stock basis is a poor idea. Generally, you purchase stocks as part of a portfolio in order to diversify your risk away. And you then use some moderately complex formulas based on past returns, as well as reading the annual reports of companies, in order to gauge what the future return on a company's projects will be. You then utilize that to create a healthy portfolio of stocks that will maximize your return while minimizing your risk, suiting your own investment criteria and risk/reward curves.

If you just have some money you'd like to put on a stock, for shits 'n giggles, the general rule is to buy a company that you deal with on a daily basis. Of course, those companies are usually blue-chip stocks with low risk anyway.