As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Applying for a Job in a Different State

Dwight SchruteDwight Schrute Registered User regular
edited August 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
This isn't much of a help or advice thread, but I would like to know if companies are willing to "fly out" a possible candidate for a job interview? Or do companies typically do the interviews over the phone if the candidate is nowhere near the company? An example would be if I live in the East coast (U.S) and there was a job opening in the west coast, would a company even consider me? If I have to fly out there with my own money for a possibility of not even getting the job that seems unfair. Then again I'm not sure how this works. Would job experience also hinder consideration? (I'm a recent college grad and looking for entry level work in the IT field)

Any insight would be most appreciated.

Dwight Schrute on

• Options
    zilozilo Registered User regular
    edited August 2007
    They'll fly you out and probably put you up in a hotel for a night.

Good luck!

zilo on
  • Options
    KingSpikeKingSpike Registered User regular
    edited August 2007
    I would say it may depend on the company, but major companies would fly you out. If there is an office in your town they would probably have you interview there first to see if you're worth it and then fly you out for a further interview.

For example, I am going to have an interview with Dell coming up for a position. If I were to get the job it would mean I would have successfully gone through seven interviews. At least three of them will be down in Texas, assuming I get that far. I would be flown down to Texas and put up in a hotel and given money for food.

KingSpike on
  • Options
    supertallsupertall Registered User regular