18. Fluffy, Our Beloved Flopsy Bunny Friend
1. Unearthly Stew
Rule clarifications and Q&A (updated Sept. 16)
If someone is about to be staked, he can choose to give his artefacts to someone else. That includes evil artefacts. But to do this, the person has to contact someone else, confirm that they are an evil character, and convince them to take their place! Alternatively, the staking victim can give his artefact to one of his evil allies, and they’ll hold on to it until they find someone else to give it to.
This just means "confirm that they actually want an evil artefact", right?
Well the guy giving away his evil artefact does have to confirm that the other guy wants it. But what I meant there is, the guy who's about to be stake has to contact someone else to convince them to take the evil artefact, which implies he has to tell the person he contacts that he does in fact have an evil artefact.
So from the sounds of it, are the item trades instant, as in they don't take place during narration?
Item trades take place as soon as either Shinto or I check our PMs and see them. They don't wait until the narration.
Wow, people are signing up quickly... I sure hope my artefact dynamics hold up to the hype...
Just a couple of questions on the bad guys...
First, the way it's written, it's not clear whether each type of bad guy gets one kill as a group or each bad guy gets a kill... with this size game, I'm assuming it's a per-group thing?
Second, is there anything preventing one person from holding both types of evil artifacts, or at least from starting the game with both types?
Yeah, it's one kill per bad guy group, not per individual bad guy.
There's nothing preventing one person from holding both types of evil artefacts, just like there's nothing preventing someone from holding several good artefacts, or both good and evil artefacts.
At the start of the game, the evil artefacts will be distributed randomly among all players. Then the good artefacts will be distributed randomly among all players, including those who already have evil artefacts. So someone might begin with one good, one evil, or both one good and one evil artefact.
I'm guessing (hoping) that each set of artifacts (i.e. good or evil) are on a no-more-than-one-per-person distribution at the start. So the most a given person could start out with is two (one good, one evil).
Indeed, the most a player can have at the start is one good artefact and one evil artefact.
Does the shield protect from execution, or just individual kills (bad guys / scythe / etc.) ?
The shield only protects from bad guy kill and scythe kill, not from the execution vote.
Um, silly question, but here goes:
If you have an evil artifact and have it stolen or trade it away for fear of staking, you become a normal villager. Assuming you survive the day and remain an innocent, if you choose to remain allied to the evils, do you technically "win" if the bad guys win? Does it really matter?
Hum, I hadn't thought about it. But I guess that yeah, if you choose to remain secretly allied with the bad guys, then you win if the bad guys win. Otherwise, there'd be no reason to ally yourself with them.
The badguys would be required to verify that said person is still allied with them, correct? They should PM the game master in that case so that someone has a record of the "bad guy" team, don't you think?
Right, they should PM Shinto and I to say that they are allied with a team of bad guys.
And the two teams of bad guys are opposed to each other.
The victory conditions are thus as such:
1) Villagers: Find all six evil artefacts.
2) Each team of bad guys (including artefact-holders and their allies): Be the only surviving team.
Out of curiosity, as an observer, it states that the village must find the 6 evil artefacts. However, if I were to start with one, I could convince someone else to take my spot as a bad guy or if I was a thief, I'd become a bad guy by stealing the item.
Combined with your note above, people who have had an evil artefact at one time but lost it or traded it can still be considered thralls, what's to stop the bad guy team from simply recruiting a bunch of thralls throughout the game?
Well, to recruit someone you have to contact them and tell them "hey, I'm a bad guy, wanna join?". Which can be pretty dangerous. One of the main advantages the bad guys have is that they are hidden. They'll lose that by PMing people for recruiting.
If you possess evil artifacts of both types, can you win with either faction, or will you have to get rid of one because your win conditions are mutually exclusive? Also, do you get two kills?
Can an evil faction player, who expects to be staked, give his item to his teammates so they can try to trade it to someone later?
You can only win with one type of evil artefact. So if you have two different evil artefacts near the end of the game, you'll have to find a way to get rid of one of them.
And there's one kill per evil team. If you have both kinds of evil artefacts, you get a say in both kill decisions. If you have the only remaining evil artefacts of both kinds, then you get two kills.
if the Eye of Ra (or Ouija Board) gets stolen, will there be no vision/contact, or will the thief get the vision/response that the previous holder requested?
The thief gets the previously-requested vision.
A former bad guy who is still allied with the bad guys = Thrall -- they will show up as "good" (not holding any evil artifacts) even though they are working against the good guys.
what happens if two or three holders of Arrows of Robin Hood target the same person?
The first one to steal (i.e. the first one to send me the PM) gets the victim's artefacts, the others get nothing.
What happens to the hammer when it imitates the pheonix feather?
Is it destroyed? Or does it survive to imitate the feather again?
The Hammer of Thor can only imitate the Feather once in the game.
If an artifact holder happens to have the Staff of Merlin, which allows two good artefacts to be used, and the Hammer of Thor...
May the user activate the Staff of Merlin to use the Hammer of Thor to imitate the Staff of Merlin, which allows him to use two good artefacts, and use the other charge of the Staff of Merlin to use yet another good artefact, thus allowing the use of five good artefacts a turn, including the Staff of Merlin and the Hammer of Thor?
I merely ask out of curiosity.
I guess so, yeah...
You have 3 original members of one bad guy faction, let's call them (A), (B), and (C). For the sake of argument, let's assume that none of them trade away their artifacts, and we haven't got any thralls to deal with just yet.
A thief (D) steals from one of them (A).
Now, the way I understand it, (A) has the choice of whether to become a thrall, or join the good guys.
What I would like to know is, do (B) and (C) automatically get (D)'s name? Does (D) automatically get theirs? There would have to be some mechanism in place for them to get together, right? If they need proof, they can always trade evil artifacts or something, but they almost have to have some hint as to who to be talking to, right?
Members of bad-guy teams always know who their teammates are. So when (D) gets his artefact, he automatically learns who (B) and (C) are, and (B) and (C) automatically learn who he is.
Players need to state they're going Thrall to Shinto and Richy, otherwise its just someone trying to pull a win out of nothing. The thralls have to be confirmed by the GMs.