As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

nVIDIA did what?

LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
edited November 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Something seems seriously wrong with the pricing of GeForce graphics cards. It says on THREE websites that a 7800 is about $130, but an 8500 is about $60. Is it just me, or is that weird? Higher equals better, right? So the price would be higher for better cards, according to my knowledge of economics.:|. I got this information from nvidia's website, microcenter.com, and ebay. If you can't trust ebay, who can you trust? If someone could clear this up, i would appreciate it.

oblivion-1.jpg
LittleKey on
«1

Posts

  • KaennethKaenneth Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    7800: MegaPixels/Second:6880 MegaTextures/Second:10320
    8500: MegaPixels/Second:1800 MegaTextures/Second:3600

    It's like comparing a brand new Honda Civic with a 2 year old Lexus SUV.

    The first digit (7___/8___) is the series, like a model year; the last digits (_800/_500) is the model. (Civic/Accord, ES, LX...)

    the 8___ series also supports DirectX 10, which Vista likes.

    Kaenneth on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • noobertnoobert Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    LittleKey wrote: »
    Higher equals better, right?

    Nope.

    Just look at the range of current video cards with in your price range and then google reviews. Based on the results pick a card ;)

    noobert on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    This is confusing. I'm not sure if I totally get it. Also, I have dual 7800's (I'm interested in upgrading, that's why I asked) and I can only run Crysis on low. What do you think I could get that would help in playing it? I don't think my budget will allow for two sheets of hyperconductive thinking aluminum and 5 denimite mem-shards, by the way.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    HAI GUYS LETS PLAY THE NUMBERS GAME.


    This is why you should always do actual research on stuff like this instead of just looking at numbers and suffixes. This is exactly how people end up with shitty graphics cards that have 512MB of vram on them. They think they have hot shit because MOR IZ BETER.

    Shogun on
  • imperial6imperial6 Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    8800GT, just released, runs $240-$280 depending on factory overclock. It performs near GTX levels at half the price. ATI will also have a new card shortly after Crysis launches, but not much is known about its performance.

    imperial6 on
  • DaemonionDaemonion Mountain Man USARegistered User regular
    edited October 2007
    LittleKey wrote: »
    I have dual 7800's (I'm interested in upgrading, that's why I asked) and I can only run Crysis on low.


    Wait, what? What are the rest of your specs?

    Daemonion on
  • Lucky CynicLucky Cynic Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Daemonion wrote: »
    LittleKey wrote: »
    I have dual 7800's (I'm interested in upgrading, that's why I asked) and I can only run Crysis on low.


    Wait, what? What are the rest of your specs?

    And how high of a resolution are you playing this on?

    I thought my friend was nuts when he said something similar, only he has an 8800GTS 320mb version. Yeah, it was his 24" monitor and him cranking one setting way too high. Check the shadows settings too, those can kill shit.

    I often joke about his crazy monitor, often calling it the IMAX theatre or something along those lines.

    Lucky Cynic on
  • DeusfauxDeusfaux Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    higher is better, but you have to look at the 2nd digit for nvidia, not the first.

    the first is generational (a full product LINE), the 2nd is wehre that particular product is with in the line

    so an 8600 is a mid range product, while an 8800 is a high end one. an 8400 is a low end product.

    a 7800 would be a high end product from the previous generation.

    typically a midrange product performs somewhere relative to the high end product of the previous generation, though thats not necessarily true this time around.

    Deusfaux on
  • BlochWaveBlochWave Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Higher equals better, right?

    On that note instead of buying a duo core processor at about 2.33 Ghz you should get a 4.0 Ghz P4 because it's faster!!!

    >_>

    Like has been stated you're comparing the finest video cards they offered from their last "group" to the pretty ok ones they offer in this one

    BlochWave on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Honestly, I don't know how to check my specs. :cry: If someone could tell me how, that'd be great. And I'm playing it with everything on low except for sound. With 1280x1024 resolution, which is of course the resolution of my moniter.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • BlochWaveBlochWave Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    start menu, run, type dxdiag. Press enter!

    You want the stuff on the first dxdiag page and the stuff under display(make sure the 7800s are actually both working too, and that you don't just have two in there and are using one!)

    BlochWave on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Ahh, I thought it might be dxdiag. I've used that, but I didn't know that was where to check all of the specs. Okay, thanks. Ill check when I get home.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Okay, here they are.

    Bios: Phoenix-award BIOS v6.00PG

    Processor- AMD Athlon (tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs)

    Memory- 2048 mb ram

    Page file- 450 mb used, 3489 mb available

    DirectX version- DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

    Display

    Name- NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT

    Manufacturer- NVIDIA

    Chip type- GeForce 7800 GT

    DAC type- integrated RAMDAC

    Approx. total memory- 256 mb

    Current display mode- 1280x1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)

    Moniter- plug and play moniter

    Do you guys need the drivers information, too? Just tell me, and I'll post it. Also, is there any way to check if im using both graphics cards? Thanks for the help.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • ZonkytonkmanZonkytonkman Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    I had a moment of temporary insanity and thought about uprgrading my pc to make it game worthy yesterday.

    Then I come in here and remember how goddamn retarded PC equipment is, and then I throw up in my mouth a little bit when I see that this guy has two fucking video cards and is only running crysis at low, and I quickly regained my sanity.

    The people that are giving this guy (admitedly low levels) of shit should take a step back and realize ust how goddamn intimidating PC spec stuff is.

    Zonkytonkman on
  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    I had a moment of temporary insanity and thought about uprgrading my pc to make it game worthy yesterday.

    Then I come in here and remember how goddamn retarded PC equipment is, and then I throw up in my mouth a little bit when I see that this guy has two fucking video cards and is only running crysis at low, and I quickly regained my sanity.

    The people that are giving this guy (admitedly low levels) of shit should take a step back and realize ust how goddamn intimidating PC spec stuff is.

    The guy running Crysis on low is doing something wrong, man. Chill. PC stuff is only hard if you've been out of it a while, and even then it just takes a quick look at a benchmark chart to get your bearings.

    As for the OP, the 7800GT is still a very respectable card. Unless you desperately need to upgrade for some reason, I'd stick with it. If the need is desperate, though, get an 8800GT.

    TychoCelchuuu on
  • noobertnoobert Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    The people that are giving this guy (admitedly low levels) of shit should take a step back and realize ust how goddamn intimidating PC spec stuff is.

    2 graphics cards (SLi/CrossFire) have never been a good idea in terms of price to performance ratio.

    noobert on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Does anyone know why I can only play it on low, though? What am I doing wrong? When I click on optimize, it tells me I should run it on low, and if I try it any higher, it gets really laggy. (I already get a lot of lag anyway.) According to you guys, I should be able to perform better with it than I am, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. It's just kind of confusing.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    LittleKey wrote: »
    Does anyone know why I can only play it on low, though? What am I doing wrong? When I click on optimize, it tells me I should run it on low, and if I try it any higher, it gets really laggy. (I already get a lot of lag anyway.) According to you guys, I should be able to perform better with it than I am, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. It's just kind of confusing.

    Nah man your graphics card is old and your processor is slow. You're lucky to run Crysis on low.

    Shogun on
  • imperial6imperial6 Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Looks like there's only one 7800 being utilized (total video memory = 256 mb, which is the amount in one card), so that would have something to do with it.

    edit at Shogun: Umm, no? Why don't you look how far he is above the minimum specs for crysis before you blast his 1.5 year old computer for being "old and slow."

    imperial6 on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Thanks, but how do I get the other one to work? My friend said he overclocked them, would that have any effect on anything?

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • imperial6imperial6 Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Well no, an overclock probably wouldn't do anything. Here's a couple links for you to check out, though SLI configurations can be tricky.

    http://www.slizone.com/page/slizone_faq.html
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=938853

    imperial6 on
  • ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    imperial6 wrote: »
    Looks like there's only one 7800 being utilized (total video memory = 256 mb, which is the amount in one card), so that would have something to do with it.

    edit at Shogun: Umm, no? Why don't you look how far he is above the minimum specs for crysis before you blast his 1.5 year old computer for being "old and slow."

    That's life in technology unfortunately. Even today's hottest system with $500 video cards and quad core CPUs don't run the game that well. At lower settings and lower resolutions a top of the line system can achieve a decent frame rate but max the shit out and you're chugging. He's using an older generation graphics card (and SLI is not going to help him that much, assuming he has it set up properly to begin with) and frankly his CPU is indeed slow, according to technology today. If he had a Core 2 duo he would most definitely see performance increases.

    OP your system is fine as I'm sure it runs most everything very well, however Crysis is just stupidly demanding. Hopefully in the future (or better yet at launch) it will be optimized to the point where more can run it, but this the way it is. However this doesn't mean you should feel bad, as even the hottest shit today will be tested by Crysis.

    Shogun on
  • imperial6imperial6 Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Of course he'd see a performance increase with a c2d, assuming it's a 6xxx model. And yeah, Crysis pushes brand new systems pretty hard. The point is, if his system was running properly, he should be able to run a little higher than everything on low. Fixing SLI won't double the frame rate by any means, but there will be a noticeable increase.

    imperial6 on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Oh well, this entire thing seems kind of... intimidating. I'll look at those sites, thanks.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • victor_c26victor_c26 Chicago, ILRegistered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Shogun wrote: »
    imperial6 wrote: »
    Looks like there's only one 7800 being utilized (total video memory = 256 mb, which is the amount in one card), so that would have something to do with it.

    edit at Shogun: Umm, no? Why don't you look how far he is above the minimum specs for crysis before you blast his 1.5 year old computer for being "old and slow."

    That's life in technology unfortunately. Even today's hottest system with $500 video cards and quad core CPUs don't run the game that well. At lower settings and lower resolutions a top of the line system can achieve a decent frame rate but max the shit out and you're chugging. He's using an older generation graphics card (and SLI is not going to help him that much, assuming he has it set up properly to begin with) and frankly his CPU is indeed slow, according to technology today. If he had a Core 2 duo he would most definitely see performance increases.

    OP your system is fine as I'm sure it runs most everything very well, however Crysis is just stupidly demanding. Hopefully in the future (or better yet at launch) it will be optimized to the point where more can run it, but this the way it is. However this doesn't mean you should feel bad, as even the hottest shit today will be tested by Crysis.

    A 4400+ X2 is the recommended processor to run the game at max settings. So no, his 4600+ X2 isn't slow. Something is amiss.

    victor_c26 on
    It's been so long since I've posted here, I've removed my signature since most of what I had here were broken links. Shows over, you can carry on to the next post.
  • stigweardstigweard Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Get the latest beta drivers from the nvidia site (oct 26 had 169.04 there might be newer). Start up the game and bring down the console "`" and add the line r_multiGpu 1 and hit enter. Both cards should be enabled in game now.

    stigweard on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Cool, thanks. I'll try that. Will that enable both cards for the whole computer, or just crysis? Like, if I go into CSS, would I have to enter it again? And would that command work in other games? Also, I can only find 163.something. I can't find 169.04.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Shogun wrote: »
    That's life in technology unfortunately. Even today's hottest system with $500 video cards and quad core CPUs don't run the game that well.

    No way. My 8800GTS (one step down from top of the line) runs everything at max with a silky smooth frame rate. I don't even own a quad core CPU either. SLI isn't a very good choice, yeah, but it should be doing better than low. It depends what res you're running at, though. If it's really high I could understand bad frame rates.

    TychoCelchuuu on
  • stigweardstigweard Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    LittleKey wrote: »
    Cool, thanks. I'll try that. Will that enable both cards for the whole computer, or just crysis? Like, if I go into CSS, would I have to enter it again? And would that command work in other games? Also, I can only find 163.something. I can't find 169.04.


    Just Crysis, check in your drivers control panel for more. Any game that doesn't support sli cards won't show any performance gain, even if you do force it through the control panel. The command for enabling sli is only for Crysis. Also, you didn't look very hard.
    Vista x64
    XP
    Vista x86

    stigweard on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Does sli mean two graphics cards? So one 8800 is better than two 7800's?

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • Nova_CNova_C I have the need The need for speedRegistered User regular
    edited October 2007
    Shogun wrote: »
    That's life in technology unfortunately. Even today's hottest system with $500 video cards and quad core CPUs don't run the game that well.

    No way. My 8800GTS (one step down from top of the line) runs everything at max with a silky smooth frame rate. I don't even own a quad core CPU either. SLI isn't a very good choice, yeah, but it should be doing better than low. It depends what res you're running at, though. If it's really high I could understand bad frame rates.

    I call shenanigans. I have an 8800GTS and my system is tuned. I get silky smooth framerates on medium settings only (Except at the end of the demo, when the engine takes a dump).

    I think he's really limited by his VRAM more than anything. In SLI, you only have as much VRAM as a single card since both cards need the exact same data loaded. I'm pretty sure the fact that my GTS is the 320MB version is bottlenecking me. (For the curious, Athlon X2 6000+, 2GB dual channel RAM (4-4-3-10 bitches), 3 drives in a RAID 0 - also, my vidcard is eVGA's overclocked version).

    Crysis is future proofed to hell and back. I don't see anything wrong with this since this is the first game released utilizing Crytek's new engine. I would hope current gen systems aren't topping out a brand new engine.

    Nova_C on
  • TechBoyTechBoy Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    I have a single 7800 GTX with a AMD X2 4200+. Close to your specs, but not as good. At first I ran the game with everything on high. After watching the amazing slideshow, I decided I actually wanted to play a game, and not just watch a series of screenshots. So I turned everything to low.

    The game looks like ass on low. Far worse than what a 7800GTX should be able to pump out. What's more, it ran terrible too. The framerate was not much improved. After tweaking some of the graphical settings, I got it to look much better and surprisingly run better too.

    What I did:
    In the graphical settings, the key is to set the Shaders option and the Shadows option to LOW. Everything else can be HIGH. Additionally, my monitor is a 1680x1050 LCD, I turned the resolution down to 1280x800. The output will be scaled up to fit the screen, but the video card has to render so much less pixels. Lastly, make sure Antialiasing is OFF. You'll have to play around with the settings more yourself, but for me that gives me a game that doesn't have any noticeable frame juddering (except occasionally in cutscenes, but who cares about those)

    TechBoy on
    tf2_sig.png
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    There's something I forgot to mention. When I first start the game, there is a big box that covers the top-left quarter of the screen. It's not totally black, but has weird, distorted graphics of what should be on the screen. It affects the rest of the screen the same way. It's impossible to explain, but I'll post a picture later. It goes away when I turn anti-aliasing to 2x and the shaders to low. (It starts on high.) But it can take a while, because when I change the anti-aliasing, the shaders automatically turn to high. It takes some time to mess around with it until it works, but once I fix it, it's not a problem anymore. I don't know if that affects anything, but it doesn't seem to when I fix it, so it doesn't seem that important.

    Okay, I downloaded the drivers, restarted my computer, and I got one of those yellow boxed in the bottom right of the screen that said sli was available. I started it, and I got to a page that let me turn on sli. Is the all I need to do? Am I using both cards now, and do I still need to enter that command in the console? Thanks.

    Oh wow. It looks so much better now. Thank you all so much. I never guessed that I was only using one of the cards. I can even play it on high, but like TechBoy said, it's a very good slideshow. I havent tried what you said yet, but I will.
    sli.jpg

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    You said your friend built your PC for you? Did he charge you money? If he did I'd be looking to get some of it back.

    Shogun on
  • LittleKeyLittleKey Registered User regular
    edited October 2007
    No, he overclocked the card.

    LittleKey on
    oblivion-1.jpg
  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Nova_C wrote: »
    I call shenanigans. I have an 8800GTS and my system is tuned. I get silky smooth framerates on medium settings only (Except at the end of the demo, when the engine takes a dump).

    Well, it depends on what resolution you're running. I'm only at 1280x1024 so that might allow me to run it on high. And no there aren't any freaking shenanigans. High, smooth, etc. And no dumps at the end part. I'm not even running the beta drivers.

    TychoCelchuuu on
  • SpoitSpoit *twitch twitch* Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Nova_C wrote: »
    I call shenanigans. I have an 8800GTS and my system is tuned. I get silky smooth framerates on medium settings only (Except at the end of the demo, when the engine takes a dump).

    Well, it depends on what resolution you're running. I'm only at 1280x1024 so that might allow me to run it on high. And no there aren't any freaking shenanigans. High, smooth, etc. And no dumps at the end part. I'm not even running the beta drivers.

    I have a GTS, and I also call schenanigans. Like Nova_c, I can only run it at a reasonable (20s+) FPS at all medium and 1280x1024. And since it doesn't even seem to be stressing the CPU at all, the video card must be the limiting factor, so....shenanaigans

    Spoit on
    steam_sig.png
  • Nova_CNova_C I have the need The need for speedRegistered User regular
    edited November 2007
    I'm running it at 1440x900, so not much different than your resolution (Wide vs tall). Maybe I need to go tweak my settings, but there's no way you're running it at max graphics. The GTX can't even do max graphics 'silky smooth'.

    Nova_C on
  • SmasherSmasher Starting to get dizzy Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Spoit wrote: »
    Nova_C wrote: »
    I call shenanigans. I have an 8800GTS and my system is tuned. I get silky smooth framerates on medium settings only (Except at the end of the demo, when the engine takes a dump).

    Well, it depends on what resolution you're running. I'm only at 1280x1024 so that might allow me to run it on high. And no there aren't any freaking shenanigans. High, smooth, etc. And no dumps at the end part. I'm not even running the beta drivers.

    I have a GTS, and I also call schenanigans. Like Nova_c, I can only run it at a reasonable (20s+) FPS at all medium and 1280x1024. And since it doesn't even seem to be stressing the CPU at all, the video card must be the limiting factor, so....shenanaigans

    Quoting this just to fix the fucking tags.

    Smasher on
  • Nova_CNova_C I have the need The need for speedRegistered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Haha, they're still wrong!

    Nova_C on
Sign In or Register to comment.