As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Is Bioshock Really All That? (and a bag of chips? Mmm...Buffalo Ranch Dorritos)

Xander25Xander25 Registered User regular
edited November 2007 in Games and Technology
I'll be honest.

I didn't like Half-Life 2.

In its defense, I never played Half-Life 1. I simply got 2 as a free game for my Portal/TF2 pack. I did, however, read up on the backstory at Wikipedia so I had something that could laughingly be called a "clue".

My biggest thing is a deep and interesting plot and innovative gameplay (god, I loved Portal even if it was short) and I keep hearing a lot about Bioshock's amazing epic storyline. Unfortunately, I'm a poor grad student and I really need to budget my $50 so I try to do my research before feeding the capitalist pigs at Best Buy.

Bioshock and Halflife use the same engine, meh? Half-Life 2 really felt like a "Get Gun. Point Gun. Shoot Gun" wimpy storyline game.

Is Bioshock's story really that good? Is it in depth? Does it draw you in and have several twists, turns and surprises?

Does the gameplay surpass Point-and-shoot shooters and tread the rare and hallowed grounds of "Wow, that's pretty sweet that you can do that"?

Thankyou in advance, PA Community, for your time and feedback!

Xander25 on

• Options
    SunshineLollypopsRainbowsSunshineLollypopsRainbows __BANNED USERS regular
    edited November 2007
    You suck for not liking Halflife 2.

However, Bioshock, after the epic twist, sucks the fattest of asses.

The gameplay itself is more than a little disappointing too. My advice is play through it till the twist, then turn it off and make up your own ending.

SunshineLollypopsRainbows on
    Australia is totally shafted for each and every entertainment release ever.

But at least we're not fatasses.