As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Am I cut out to be an entrepeneur(sp?)?

DeadfallDeadfall I don't think you realize just how rich he is.In fact, I should put on a monocle.Registered User regular
edited December 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Before I continue, just know that I'm not trying to become a self-made millionaire or something like that.

Now, I'm a physical education teacher. I love my job. Most of the time. Before I went to school for teaching, I was going to sign up for culinary school, because well, I love cooking. And I'm pretty damned good at it. I have a talent for throwing things together to make new flavors. Experimentation and all that.

Most of my jobs through high school involved customer service, and I was a shift manager at a small pizza restaurant for a few months. Through college, I was a cook at a high volume Italian restaurant. It was perfect, except for the pay and it stopped being fun when corporate started cracking down and really pushing new policies. They were trying to be the Italian restaurant everybody thought of in America when they thought, "I'd like some Italian food."

My best friend just graduted from culinary school. We make a fantastic pair of cooks/chefs.

Here's my idea: I'd like to start catering, just on the side for awhile. I can make the best paninis you've ever had, and we've got some great recipes we've come up with just by playing around the kitchen. I'd like to start small, maybe a corporate lunch for my father's company here and there, charging for the cost of ingredients, spreading by word of mouth. Just catering for small parties and such. You know, passing out my card and whatnot.