As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Argh -Xbox Live not working over my wireless network!

Mr_AnonymousMr_Anonymous Registered User regular
edited December 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi guys.

Basically, bought the wireless adapter for my 360 today and hooked it up. Entered the WEP key and connected up fine and dandy, just one bar shy of a full compliment. However, when I came to do the Xbox Live Test, everything went great until testing Xbox Live itself, where it failed. Not sure what could be wrong, as several laptops connect up to the network just fine on a regular basis. Any help is much appreciated - technology is falling apart all over the house and it'd be nice if I could get something to actually work...

Mr_Anonymous on

Posts

  • YodaTunaYodaTuna Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    This just happened with my brother's new 360. If you have a Linksys router, apparently the major fix is disabling UPNP in your router set up. It didn't work for my bro, but it might work for you.

    YodaTuna on
  • Mr_AnonymousMr_Anonymous Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Hmm interesting you should mention Linksys - it is indeed a linksys router. The Wrt54g or something. And thanks for trying but I don't think it worked... I might try power cycling later. Damn this is frustrating.

    Mr_Anonymous on
  • KPCKPC Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    I've heard that XBOX Live has been down this weekend.

    http://www.engadget.com/2007/12/22/xbox-live-suffering-from-major-outage-on-christmas-weekend-ouc/

    Maybe that's the problem?

    KPC on
  • Mr_AnonymousMr_Anonymous Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Oh criminy. If the only reason I can't connect is this, then all my hours of tinkering with router settings and such may just have fecked other stuff up when there was no need! But, if not, on a side note, anyone on a Linksys router ever encounter an issue where you set up a static IP on your PC (win xp control panel method), but in your DHCP client list it still has the same dynamically assigned IP?

    Mr_Anonymous on
  • Mr_AnonymousMr_Anonymous Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Linksys owning guys see here: http://forum.teamxbox.com/showthread.php?t=463207&page=5

    Worked like a charm. Open NAT settings and everything. Only problem now is that bloody Xbox Live seems to be on the fritz for sure as KPC said, because I can connect fine, but hang halfway through recovering my Gamertag every time. A problem on their end I'm sure. Wow. Four hours later, victory is mine :D Bed time. Thanks for the help guys.

    Mr_Anonymous on
Sign In or Register to comment.